Skip to main content
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine Resource Guide
Search this Guide
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine Resource Guide: General Info
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Research & Writing
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine - Images
Exercise Physiology Digital Image Archive
Contains maps, charts, graphs, tables and figures on exercise physiology.
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine - Videos
Aces's Guide to Group Strength Training. Monterey, CA: Healthy Learning. 2005
Call Number: Media Resources 613.71 A175
Provides a comprehensive review of how to design and lead safe and effective group strength training classes.
Body, in Motion, The: Fitness, Skill, and Training. Indianapolis: Video Education America, 2010.
Breitenmoser, Kurt, Vanessa Burt
Call Number: Media Resources 613.7 B668
Teaches practical tests that measure the health-related and skill-related components of fitness.
Davis's Quick Clips: Special Tests. Philadelphia, PA: F.A. Davis, 2011.
Wilder, Nathan J.
Call Number: Media Resources 617.1027 D265
Each title in this series uses full-color, full motion, narrated video clips to make often complex techniques or procedures easier to master.
New Physical Education, The: Promoting Healthy & Active Lifestyles. Ellensburg, WA: Central Washington University/P.E. Links 4U Production, 2006
Jeffries, Stephen, Kirk Mathias
Call Number: Media Resources 796.071 N532
Illustrates many characteristics of quality physical education programs and effective physical education teachers.
Sports Training Revolution, The. Monterey, CA: Healthy Learning. 2008
Call Number: Media Resources 613.7 K48S
Details how to employ new, cutting-edge strength, speed, and flexibility training that is designed to challenge athletes and clients.
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine - News
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: Newsroom
News from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Medical News Today
Delivers hourly health news from well-regarded sources plus over 180,000 archivedf news articles.
World Health News
Offers original reporting and a digest of news stories and commentaries from newspapers and magazines worldwide on pressing issues in public health.
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine - Books
Anatomy of Exercise: A Trainer's Inside GUide to Your Workout. Richmond Hill, Ont: Firefly Books. 2008
Call Number: 613.71 M285A
Offers illustrations of how the body works during exercise.
Arnheim's Principles of Athletic Training : a competency-based approach. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2006, 12th ed.
Prentice, Williams E.
Call Number: 617.1027 P927A2
Explains principles to help athletes avoid injury and describes injuries that can occur to each region of the body.
Athletic Develop,ent: The Art and Science of Functional Sports Conditioning. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2007.
Call Number: 613.7 G189A
A world-renowned strength and conditioning coach shares what he learned through more than 40 years of experience of working with athletes across sports, age groups, and levels of competition.
Athletic Training: An Introduction to Professional Practice. Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill. 2006
Prentice, Williams E.
Call Number: 617.1027 P927A3
Condensed version of Arnheim's Principles of Athletic Training with chapters that effectively introduce the athletic training student to professional practice.
Athletic Training and Sports Medicine. Sudbury, MA: Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 2006, 4th ed.
Starkey, Chad. Glen Johnson
Call Number: 617.1027 A871
Uses a visual format to present clinically applicable techniques for evaluating and treating injuries experience by athletes.
Athletic Training Management. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2006, 3rd ed.
Rankin, James Michael. Christopher D. Ingersoll
Call Number: 617.1027 R211A
Applies the art of management to health care.
Athletic Training Student Primer, The: A Foundation for Success. Thorofare, NJ: SLACK Inc. 2003
Winterstein, Andrew P.
Call Number: 613.71 W788A
Supports the core concepts, terminology, and educational requirements of athletic training with insights drawn from academic and clinical education.
Basic Steps to Godly Fitness: Strengthening Your Body and Soul in Christ. Eugene, OR: Harvest House Publishers, 2005
Call Number: 248.4 W734B
Offers a set by step plan to improve wholeness in body, soul, and spirit.
Conditioning for Athletes. Ramsbury: Crowood, 2005
Winch, Michael A.
Call Number: 613.711 W758C
Describes and analyzes the physical elements of conditioning, their use within the training programs, and explains how each is used and applied.
Developing Clinical Proficiency in Athletic Training. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2010, 4th ed.
Knight, Kenneth L., Kirk Brumels
Call Number: 617.1027 K69D
Present a modular approach consisting of three levels and 147 modules that guide students in an athletic training program through educational competencies.
Developing Effective Physical Activity Programs. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2009
Ransdell, Lynda B., Mary K. Dinger, Jennifer L. Huberty, Kim H. Miller
Call Number: 613.7 D489
Offers information, methods, and techniques that do not require a rigid application of the traditional frequency, intensity, and time (FIT) approach to exercise.
Designing Resistance Training Programs. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2004, 3rd ed.
Fleck, Steven J., William J. Hraemer
Call Number: 613.71 F593D3
Explains how to apply scientific knowledge to the development of personalized training programs.
Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2008, 3rd ed.
Baechle, Thomas R., Roger W. Earle
Call Number: 613.71 E79
For students preparing for careers in strength and conditioning and for sport science professionals involved in training athletes.
Fit and Active: The West Point Physical Development Program. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics. 2008
LeBoeuf, Maureen, Lawrence F. Butler
Call Number: 613.71 F543
Outline West Point's four-year physical development program.
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2007, 3rd ed.
Call Number: 613.7 F558
Overview of trends and growing evidence on the benefits of regular physical activity to disease prevention and stress reduction.
Fitness and Health. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2007, 6th ed.
Sharkey, Brian J., Steven E. Gaskill
Call Number: 613.7 S531F6
Explains the health benefits of physical activity, and provides guidelines for establishing an aerobic and muscular fitness program and nutrition program for weight control.
Fitness Illustrated. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2011
Sharkey, Brian J.
Call Number: 613.7 S531F
Uses illustrations, charts, and graphs to show how different types of exercise and activity work and how the body changes with increased activity.
Fitness Instructor's Handbook, The: A Professional's Complete Guide to Health and Fitness. Richmond Hill, Ont: Firefly Books, 2007.
Call Number: 613.71 C855F
Guidebook for professionals working in or interested in entering the fitness industry.
Fitness Professional's Handbook. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2007, 5th ed.
Howley, Edward T., B. Don Franks
Call Number: 613.71 H865F
Provides fitness professionals with limited knowledge of anatomy and physiology to screen clients and assess fitness through standardized tests and to write appropriate fitness prescriptions.
Flexibility: A Concise Guide to Conditioning, Performance Enhancement, Injury Prevention, and Rehabilitation. Totowa, NJ: Humana Press ; London: Springer, 2008
Holt, Laurence E., Jason Holt, Thomas W. Pelham
Call Number: 615.82 H758F Ebook
Examine flexibility in the human body and how stretching techniques are applied to sports conditioning, physical rehabilitation, and personal fitness and health.
Fundamentals of Athletic Training. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2011, 3rd ed.
Cartwright, Lorin, William A. Pitney
Call Number: 617.1027 C329F2
Covers several topics in athletic training.
Foundations of Athletic Training: Prevention, Assessment, and Management. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, 2004, 3rd ed.
Anderson, Marcia K, Malissa Martin, Susan J. Hall
Call Number: 617.1027 A548F2
Addresses conditions and injuries seen in the physically active population across the lifespan.
Healthy Body Handbook, The: A Total Guide to the Prevention and Treatment of Sports Injuries. New York, NY: Demos Medical Pub.
Saidoff, David C., Stuart Apfel
Call Number: 617.1027 S132H
Describes the basic structure and function of the musculoskeletal system of the human body and the painful conditions that can develop in each part of the body from rigorous exercise.
Motivating People to Be Physically Active. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2009, 2nd ed.
Marcus, Bess H., LeighAnn H. Forsyth
Call Number: 615.82 M322M2
Translates theories from behavioral science research into practical methods for helping sedentary individuals engage in physical activity.
Physical Activity and Health. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2007
Bouchard, Claude, Steven N. Blair, William Haskell
Call Number: 613.71 P577
Provides comprehensive treatment of the relationship between physical activity and health outcomes.
Physical Activity and Health Guidelines: Recommendations for Various Ages, Fitness Levels, and Conditions from 57 Authoritative Sources. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics. 2010
Rahl, Riva L.
Call Number: 612.76 R147P
Compilation of the latest recommendations from vaiour leading physical and health sources and organizations.
Physical Education Activity Handbook, The. San Francisco: Benjamin Cummings, 2010, 12th ed.
Schmottlach, Neil., Jerre McManama, Lisa Hicks
Call Number: 796.07 S356P
Reviews the basic skills, rules, and terminology associated with 25 sports.
Physical Fitness and the Christian : Exercising Stewardship. Dubuque, IA: Kendall/Hunt, 2005, 4th ed.
Johnson, Pamela S. Diehl, and L. Delyte Morris
Call Number: 613.7 J68P4
Presents physical fitness from a Christian perspective.
Physical Therapies in Sport and Exercise: Principles and Practice. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingston. 2003
Kolt, Gregory S., Lynn Snyder-Mackler
Call Number: 617.1027 P578
Provides current evidenced-based approaches to assessment, management, rehabilitation, and prevention of sports-related exercise.
Practical Philosophy of Sport and Physical Activity. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2005, 2nd ed.
Kretchmar, R. Scott
Call Number: 796.01 K92P
Provides a thorough, clear, and practical introduction to the philosophy of physical activity and sport.
Psychology of Teaching Physical Education, The: From Theory to Practice. Scottsdale, AZ: 2008
Blankenship, Bonnie Tjeerdsma
Call Number: 613.701 B642P
Offers a combination of research, theory, and practical information to help future and current physical educators focus on the psychological approach to working with their students.
Science and Practice of Strength Training. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2006, 2nd ed.
Zatsiorsky, Vladimir M., William J. Kraemer
Call Number: 613.711 Z38S
Examines concepts and principles needed in order to make decisions on appropriate program design for individual athletes.
Strength Training. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics. 2007
Call Number: 613.713 S914
Contains valuable information about strength training by a team of experts chosen by the National Strength and Conditioning Association.
Therapeutic Modalities. Philadelphia: F.A. Davis Co., 2004, 3rd ed.
Call Number: 617.1027 S795T
Offers a balance between theory and application, including the injury response process, physiology and psychology of pain, and development and delivery of treatment protocol.
Therapeutic Modalities: For Sports Medicine and Athletic Training. Boston: McGraw-Hill, 2003, 5th ed.
Prentice, William E.
Call Number: 617.1027 T398
Deals specifically with why and how therapeutic modalities are best used in the treatment and rehabilitation of injuries related to sport.
Training for Speed, Agility and Quickness. Champaign, IL: Human Kinetics, 2005, 2nd ed.
Brown, Lee E., Vance A. Ferrigno
Call Number: 613.711 T768
Workout guide to improve speed, agility and quickness.
Athletic Training & Sports Medicine - Websites
Medline Plus - Exercise and Physical Fitness
National Institutes of Health's Web site about exercise and physical fitness.
Covers a broad spectrum of health and wellness topics for people at all stages of life wih a focus on health maintenance and disease prevention.
Feb 14, 2017 9:21 AM
Login to LibApps
Kinesiology & Allied Health