This is the "General" page of the "Biographies Resource Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biographies Resource Guide   Tags: biographical, biographies, biography  

Last Updated: May 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cedarville.edu/biographies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Biographies - Databases

General Biographies - Websites

 

General Biographies - Books

Almanac Of Famous People. Detroit, ME: Gale Research Co., 10th ed., 2 vols. - Kristin Mallegg, ed.
Call Number: R 920.02 A445
ISBN: 1414445482
Publication Date: 2011
Comprehensive guide to over 36,000 famous and infamous newsmakers from biblical times to the present.

Cover Art
Appleton's Cyclopædia of American Biography. New York: D. Appleton and Company, 6 vols. - Wilson, James Grant, and John Fiske
Call Number: Special Collections 920 Ap649
ISBN: 1171861176
Publication Date: 1891
Includes names of over 20,000 native and adopted citizens of the U.S.

Cover Art
Celebrity in the 21st Century. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO - Leslie, Larry Z.
Call Number: R 920.073 L635C
ISBN: 1598844849
Publication Date: 2011
Includes short profiles of current celebrities and discusses problems faced by celebrities and their followers and future developments in the cultural understanding of celebrity.

Cover Art
Chambers Biographical Dictionary. New York: Chambers, 6th ed. - Parry, Melanie
Call Number: R 920.02 C444
ISBN: 0550160604
Publication Date: 1997
Offers over 17,500 profiles of notable achievers.

Cover Art
Columbia Encyclopedia. Columbia: Columbia University Press, 6th ed. - Legasse, Paul
Call Number: R. 031 C726
ISBN: 0787650153
Publication Date: 2000
Most expensive single-volume general encyclopedia in the English language.

Cover Art
The Concise Dictionary of National Biography: From Earliest Times to 1985. New York: Oxford University Press, 3 vols.
Call Number: R 920.042 C755
ISBN: 0198653050
Publication Date: 1992
Covering 36,500 people in British history from the 1st century Roman times to the mid-1980s.

Cover Art
Current Biography Yearbook 2012. New York: H. W. Wilson - Clifford Thompson, Clifford, Miriam Helbok, and Mari Rich, eds.
Call Number: R 920 C976
ISBN: 0824211219
Publication Date: 2013
Biographical articles about living leaders in all fields throughout the world.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American Biography. Detroit: Gale Research Co. - Drake, Francis S.
Call Number: R 920 D761D
ISBN: 1163441511
Publication Date: 1974
Contains nearly 10,000 biographical entries of people prominently connected with the arts, sciences, literature, politics, or history in America.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American Biography. New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 20+ vols.
Call Number: R 920 D555
ISBN: 0684167948
Publication Date: 1980
Records the lives of 19,173 women and men who made significant contributions to American life.

Cover Art
The Dictionary of National Biography. London: Oxford University Press, 10 vols. - Smith, George
Call Number: R 920 D554
ISBN: 0198652119
Publication Date: 1921-1922
Includes biographical entries on British individuals from world history.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0787622214
Publication Date: 2008
Includes nearly 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale, 2nd ed., 17 vols. - Byers, Paula Kay, and Suzanne Michele Bourgoin, eds.
Call Number: R 920.009 E29E2
ISBN: 0787622214
Publication Date: 1998
Approximately 7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale, vol. 27, Supplement
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1414429282
Publication Date: 2007
An additional 200 new biographical entries of historic and contemporary figures.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography. Detroit: Gale, vol. 28, Supplement
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1414438044
Publication Date: 2008
An additional 200 new biographical entries of historic and contemporary figures.

Cover Art
Reference Library of American Men. Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Research, 4 vols. - Mossman, Jennifer, ed.
Call Number: R 920.71 R332
ISBN: 0787662593
Publication Date: 2002
Biographical information on 650 men who have gained international recognition for their contributions to human culture and society

Help with Research

Profile Image
Reference Librarians
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Sun 7 - 10 pm
Mon - Thurs 9 am - 10 pm
Fri 9 am - 5 pm
In Person: Stop by Reference Desk
Text: 937-505-0985
Phone: 937-766-7850
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip