This is the "Book Reviews" page of the "Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Book Reviews  

Where to find book reviews at the Centennial Library.
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cedarville.edu/bookreviews Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Book Reviews Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact Information

Library Homepage
Library Hours
Ask Us:
Ask-A-Librarian!
mobile icon Text Us:
(937) 505-0985
email icon Email Us:
refer@cedarville.edu
phone icon Call Us:
(937) 766-7850
Twitter icon Twitter:
CedarvilleLIB
Facebook icon Facebook:
Centennial Library
Google+
CedarvilleLIB
YouTube
CedarvilleLIB
Instagram
CedarvilleLIB
Foursquare
CedarvilleLIB
 

Search for books, articles, media, and more...

 

Reviews in Print

Book Review Index (1965 - present) is available in print at the Centennial Library (call no. # R 028 B726). It features the following:

  • reviews arranged by author
  • cumulations of reviews published annually
  • gives citations but not summaries of reviews
  • indexed by title
  • indexes of hundreds of publications
  • lists periodical abbreviations at beginning of volume 

* When searching for reviews, start with the year the book was published, and be sure to check a few years before and after the date. See the example at right.

Book Review Digest (1905-98) is also available in print at the Centennial Library (call no. # R 028 B724). It features the following:

  • arranged alphabetically by author
  • published monthly with bound annual cumulations and five-year index
  • provides summaries to book previews and citations to reviews (see example at right)
  • requires two published reviews for a non-fiction book, four reviews to include a fiction book
  • indexed by subject and title
  • indexes over 80 periodicals
  • lists periodical abbreviations at beginning of volume

Cover Art
Book review index - Detroit, Gale Research Co
Call Number: R 028 B726
Publication Date: 1965 - present
From Gale: "Book Review Index provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests. The up-to-date coverage, wide scope and inclusion of citations for both newly published and older materials make Book Review Index an exceptionally useful reference tool. More than 600 publications are indexed, including journals and national general interest publications and newspapers. "

Cover Art
Book Review Digest - [Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co., 1906-
Call Number: R 028 B724
Publication Date: 1905-98
From HW Wilson: "Book Review Digest is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development. It provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. It also includes descriptive summaries of the books."

Web Resources & Online Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
  • Books in Print with Book Reviews  
      
    This resource includes information on over 7.5 million in print, out of print, and forthcoming books, ebooks, audio, and video titles.
  • H-Net
    H-Net Reviews bring a new dimension to the world of academic publishing. Our reviews are published online via discussion networks and the H-Net web site. This permits our reviews to reach scholars with a speed unmatched in any other medium. It also makes a new kind of interactivity possible, as reviewers, authors and readers engage in discussions of the reviews online. Through the power of e-mail and the web H-Net has helped pioneer online scholarly reviewing.
  • JSTOR  
      
    JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
  • Kirkus
    "Since 1933, Kirkus has been one of the most trusted and authoritative voices in book discovery...Today, Kirkus reviews more than 7,000 books published by traditional houses and more than 3,000 self-published books every year. The magazine is published on the 1st and 15th of every month, and because of the scope of our coverage, our authoritative voice and the timeliness of our reviews, Kirkus Reviews is revered by many as the first indicator of a book’s potential. "
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip