This is the "Home" page of the "Literary Criticism Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literary Criticism Research  

There are several approaches and many tools in the library to help you in your literature research.
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.cedarville.edu/lcr Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search for books, articles, media, and more...

 

Contact Information

Library Homepage
Library Hours
Ask Us:
Ask-A-Librarian!
mobile icon Text Us:
(937) 505-0985
email icon Email Us:
refer@cedarville.edu
phone icon Call Us:
(937) 766-7850
Twitter icon Twitter:
CedarvilleLIB
Facebook icon Facebook:
Centennial Library
Google+
CedarvilleLIB
YouTube
CedarvilleLIB
Instagram
CedarvilleLIB
Foursquare
CedarvilleLIB

Literary Criticism Research: Databases

DATABASES provide access to periodical articles, book chapters, and reference works about literary criticism.

The Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from many time periods. LRC is a full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and other unique sources.

You may wish to consult the databases listed below as well. 

 

Bibliographies

BIBLIOGRAPHIES are lists of works by or about an author. Annotated bibliographies provide a summary paragraph of the work, so you can know in advance if the work will be helpful. Sometimes the end of a book or periodical article will include a bibliography.

There are books which are entire bibliographies in themselves. These bibliographies are located in the reference section of the upper level of the library (call number 016). Following the 016. is the author’s assigned Dewey Decimal call number.

For example, the library owns A Bibliography of Nathaniel Hawthorne, with the call number R 016.813 H39B. All of an author's bibliographies are grouped together.

 

Other Print & Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism - Chris Murray (Editor)
Call Number: R 801.95 E56
ISBN: 1579581447
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
"The world of literary theory and criticism has recently become increasingly complex and multi-faceted: the Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism provides a comprehensive guide (historical and international) to a wide range of individual writers, critics and theorists, to major theories, and to central critical concepts. Authoritative yet accessible, the entries range from 900 to 4,000 words, and all include an up to -date guide to further reading."

Cover Art
Masterplots II - John K. Roth (Editor)
Call Number: R 809 M423
ISBN: 9781587653797
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
"Masterplots II: Christian Literature covers over 500 classic and contemporary works of Christian fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama, providing a plot summary, analysis of Christian themes, and an annotated bibliography for each title."

Cover Art
Critical Survey of Poetry - Philip K. Jason (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: R 809.1 C934
ISBN: 1587650711
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
"This series contains in-depth analytical reference guides to major writers of world literature. The series has an accessible style and format that allow readers to zero in on precise characteristics of a poet's work. The Critical Survey of Poetry presents 698 poets in 697 essays."

Cover Art
British Writers - Ian Scott-Kilvert (Editor)
Call Number: R 928.2 S526B
ISBN: 0684157985
Publication Date: 1979-01-01

Cover Art
Contemporary Foreign Language Writers - James Vinson (Editor); Daniel L. Kirkpatrick (Editor)
Call Number: R 928.1 V788C
ISBN: 031216663X
Publication Date: 1984-12-01

Cover Art
Shakespearean criticism - Ed. by Thomas Middleton Raysor
Call Number: 822.33 Z316
Publication Date: London, Dent; New York, Dutton [1967]
Located on the lower level of the library.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip