This is the "Welcome!" page of the "Oral Interpretation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Aug 14, 2012 URL: http://libguides.cedarville.edu/oralinterpretation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Oral Interpretation User Guide

Need ideas for readings?

Look at these recommended books:

• Children's Classics                Poetry
Drama Short Stories



Search one or more of these terms from the

  

Already have an idea for a reading?

Search for your reading in the following:        

Library Catalog                   
• Databases
 

How to Do Oral Interpretation


Books with suggestions for performance and sample selections

Cover Art
Anatomy of Story: 22 Steps to Becoming a Master Storyteller. New York: Faber and Faber - Truby, John
Call Number: 808.543 T865A
ISBN: 0865479518
Publication Date: 2007
Draws on a broad range of philosophy and mythology, offering fresh techniques and insightful anecdotes for how to build an effective, multifaceted narrative.

Cover Art
The Art of Storytelling: Creative Ideas for Preparation and Performance. Colorado Springs, CO: Meriwether, 1994 - Cassady, Marsh
Call Number: 808.543 C343A
ISBN: 1566080029
Resource manual for beginners and seasoned storytellers.

Cover Art
The Art of Storytelling: Telling Truths Through Telling Stories. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, Inc - Spaulding, Amy E.
Call Number: 372.677 S739A
ISBN: 0810877767
Publication Date: 2011
Enables the reader to learn how to develop the skill of storytelling while also discovering the tradition of storytelling.

Cover Art
Creative Storytelling: Building Community, Changing Lives. New York: Routledge - Zipes, Jack D.
Call Number: 372.677 Z79C
ISBN: 0415912725
Publication Date: 1995
Proposes an interactive storytelling that creates and strengthens a sense of community while extolling storytelling as animation, subversion, and self-discovery.


Cover Art
The Lost Origins of the Essay. Saint Paul, MN: Graywolf Press, 2009 - D'Agata, John, ed.
Call Number: 808.84 L881
ISBN: 1555975321
Expansive and exhilarating world tour of innovative nonfiction writing.

Cover Art
Making Your Message Memorable: Communicating Through Stories. Menlo Park, CA: Crisp Learning - Shouse, Deborah
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1560526882
Publication Date: 2003
Shows you how turn your experiences into memorable stories and get tips for connecting with your audience, finding your storytelling style, and bringing your stories to life.


Cover Art
The Performance of Reading. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., - Kivy, Peter
Call Number: 808.54 K62P
ISBN: 1405146923
Publication Date: 2006
Argues for distinct analogies between "silent" reading and artistic performance, and so fashions the new role of the reader as performer.

Cover Art
Philosophers to Astronauts Reader's Theater. Huntington Beach, CA: Creative Teaching Press - Hults, Alaska, ed.
Call Number: CMC BOOK COLLECTION 372.4 H917P
ISBN: 1591980380
Publication Date: 2004
Provides hours of fluency practice that features characters students know and may even admire.

Cover Art
Readers Theatre: What It Is and How to Stage It. Newark, NJ: Wildside Press - Kaye, Marvin
Call Number: 812.69 K23R
ISBN: 1880448491
Publication Date: 1995
Complete guide to Reader's Theatre--what it is and how to stage it--including four award-winning scripts.

Cover Art
Storytelling and Theatre: Contemporary Professional Storytellers and Their Art. New York: Palgrave Macmillan - Wilson, Michael
Call Number: 808.543 W751S
ISBN: 1403906645
Publication Date: 2005
Provides a critical survey of current practice of storytelling and a critical framework for current and possible debates in the field.

Cover Art
Storytelling Folklore Sourcebook. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited - Livo, Norma J., and Sandra A. Rietz
Call Number: 808.543 L788S (also available online)
ISBN: 0872876012
Publication Date: 1991
Covers costumes, customs, dances and drama, food, games, and legend, as well as forms of oral literature (music, proverbs, rhymes, riddles, tales, beliefs, and superstitions.)

Cover Art
Storytelling for User Experience: Crafting Stories for Better Design. Brooklyn, NY: Rosenfeld Media - Quesenbery, Whitney, and Kevin Brooks
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 1933820470
Publication Date: 2010
Tells how to craft and tell your own unique stories to improve your designs.

Cover Art
Storytelling for Young Adults: A Guide to Tales for Teens. Westport, CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2nd ed. - De Vos, Gail
Call Number: 027.62 D512S
ISBN: 1563089033
Publication Date: 2003
Annotated bibliography of stories for young adults from around the world and throughout the ages.

Cover Art
Storyteller's Start-Up Book: Finding, Learning, Performing and Using Folktales. Little Rock, AR: August House - MacDonald, Margaret Read
Call Number: CMC BOOK COLLECTION 372.677 M135S
ISBN: 0874833043
Publication Date: 1993
Offers basic start-up information on finding stories, looking at them critically, starting a story bank, networking with other storytellers, and creating a storytelling event.

Cover Art
Storytelling Folklore Sourcebook. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited - Livo, Norma J., and Sandra A. Rietz
Call Number: 808.543 L788S (also available online)
ISBN: 0872876012
Publication Date: 1991
Covers costumes, customs, dances and drama, food, games, and legend, as well as forms of oral literature (music, proverbs, rhymes, riddles, tales, beliefs, and superstitions.)

Cover Art
Super Simple Storytelling: A Can-Do Guide for Every Classroom, Every Day. Englewood, CO: Teacher Ideas Press - Haven, Kendall F.
Call Number: 808.543 H385S (also available online)
ISBN: 1563086816
Publication Date: 2000
Contains storytelling exercises, what an audience really needs from storytelling, a system for successfully learning and remembering a story, and how to prevent storytelling disasters.

Cover Art
Tackling Text: A Step-by-Step Guide for Actors. London: Nick Hern - Houseman, Barbara
Call Number: 808.2 H842T
ISBN: 185459799X
Publication Date: 2008
Practical guide on how to cope with text, character, and situation.

Need MORE help finding readings?

Profile Image
Reference Librarians
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Summer Hours
Monday - Friday
9 am - 5 pm
In Person: Stop by the Reference Desk
Text: 937-505-0985
Phone: 937-766-7850
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip