Research Guides: Subject Guide: Literary Criticism Research: Home

Literary Criticism Research

Databases

Provide access to periodical articles, book chapters, and reference works about literary criticism.

The Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from many time periods. LRC is a full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and other unique sources.

You may wish to consult the databases listed below as well.

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.

A&HCI also provides access to an article's cited references or the footnotes from an author's bibliography. Cited items may be critical in nature or original creative works (novels, poems, works of philosophy, paintings, musical compositions, etc.).

Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Radio, Television, & Film. Religion. Theater.
Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete includes all the data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) and full text from more than 770 journals. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, books, and other humanities reference materials, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.

Bibliographies

BIBLIOGRAPHIES are lists of works by or about an author. Annotated bibliographies provide a summary paragraph of the work, so you can know in advance if the work will be helpful. Sometimes the end of a book or periodical article will include a bibliography.

There are books which are entire bibliographies in themselves. These bibliographies are located in the reference section of the upper level of the library (call number 016). Following the 016. is the author’s assigned Dewey Decimal call number.

For example, the library owns A Bibliography of Nathaniel Hawthorne, with the call number R 016.813 H39B. All of an author's bibliographies are grouped together.

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism by Chris Murray (Editor)
Call #: R 801.95 E56
ISBN: 1579581447
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
"The world of literary theory and criticism has recently become increasingly complex and multi-faceted: the Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism provides a comprehensive guide (historical and international) to a wide range of individual writers, critics and theorists, to major theories, and to central critical concepts. Authoritative yet accessible, the entries range from 900 to 4,000 words, and all include an up to -date guide to further reading."
Masterplots II by John K. Roth (Editor)
Call #: R 809 M423
ISBN: 9781587653797
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
"Masterplots II: Christian Literature covers over 500 classic and contemporary works of Christian fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama, providing a plot summary, analysis of Christian themes, and an annotated bibliography for each title."
Critical Survey of Poetry by Philip K. Jason (Editor); Tracy Irons-Geroges (Editorial Coordinator); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Coordinator); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief)
Call #: R 809.1 C934
ISBN: 1587650711
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
"This series contains in-depth analytical reference guides to major writers of world literature. The series has an accessible style and format that allow readers to zero in on precise characteristics of a poet's work. The Critical Survey of Poetry presents 698 poets in 697 essays."
British Writers by Ian Scott-Kilvert (Editor)
Call #: R 928.2 S526B
ISBN: 0684157985
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
Contemporary Foreign Language Writers by James Vinson (Editor); Daniel L. Kirkpatrick (Editor)
Call #: R 928.1 V788C
ISBN: 031216663X
Publication Date: 1984-12-01
Shakespearean criticism by Ed. by Thomas Middleton Raysor
Call #: 822.33 Z316
Publication Date: London, Dent; New York, Dutton [1967]
Located on the lower level of the library.

	Library Homepage
	Library Hours
	researchhelp@cedarville.edu
	Schedule a Research Appointment
	Frequently Asked Questions
	Text: (937) 505-0985
	Call: (937) 766-7840