Skip to main content

Citation Guide: Turabian

                              Book Review

                               Turabian Manual 17.5.4, 19.5.4

                                                See examples below for:

  • Book Review from Print
  • Book Review from Database
  • Book Review from Internet

 

                                      Book Review from Print

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
               10. A. O. Scott, review of The Debt, directed by John Madden, Miramaz
      
Films, New York Times, August 31, 2011.

       Subsequent Footnotes or Endnotes
               13. Scott.

       Bibliography
       Usually not cited in bibliography.

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Scott 2011)

       Subsequent Parenthetical Notes
       (Scott 2011)

       Reference List
       Scott, A. O. 2011. Review of The Debt, directed by John Madden, Miramaz
               
Films. New York Times. August 31.

 

                               Book Review from Database

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
              8. Susan Willey and Janice Hume, review of God’s Man for the Gilded
      
Age: D.L. Moody and the Rise of Modern Mass Evangelicalism, by Bruce J.      
       Evensen,
Journalism History 29,no. 4 (2004): 202, accessed March 25, 2010, 
       Communication & Mass Media Complete. 

       Subsequent Footnotes or Endnotes
               10. Willey and Hume, 203.  

       Bibliography
       Usually not cited in bibliography.

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Willey and Hume 2004, 202) 

       Subsequent Parenthetical Notes
       (Willey and Hume, 203)

       Reference List
       Willey, Susan, and Janice Hume. 2004. Review of God’s Man for the Gilded
             
Age: D.L. Moody and the Rise of Modern Mass Evangelicalism, by Bruce             
              J. Evensen, Journalism
History 29, no. 4. Accessed March 25, 2010.
              Communication & Mass Media Complete.

 

                                      Book Review from Internet

 

Notes-Bibliography Style

       1st Footnote or Endnote
               9. David Malitz, review of concert performance by Bob Dylan, Merriweather      
      
Post Pavillion, Columbia, MD, Washington Post, August 17, 2011, accessed
      
August 31, 2011, http://www.washingtonpost.com /lifestyle/style/music-review
       -bob-dylan-at-merriweather-post-pavillion/2011/08/17/glQAeb1DMJ_story.html.  

       Subsequent Footnotes or Endnotes
               14. Malitz.

       Bibliography      
       Usually not cited in bibliography.

 

Author-Date Style

       1st Parenthetical Note
       (Malitz 2011)

       Subsequent Parenthetical Notes
       (Malitz 2011)

       Reference List
       Malitz, David. 2011. Review of concert performance by Bob Dylan. Merriweather
              
Post Pavillion, Columbia, MD. Washington Post, August 17. Accessed
              
August 31, 2011,  http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/music
              
-review-bob-dylan-at-merriweather-post-pavillion.