The Acting Bible: The Complete Resource for Aspiring Actors by 
100 Projects to Strengthen Your Acting Skills by 
Acting: Advanced Techniques for the Actor, Director, and Teacher by 
Voice and the Young Actor by
"Many high school theatre teachers do not have access to intensive voice instruction. Rena's book will fill that void. It is instructive, concise, easy to understand, and most importantly for the high school student, fun. High school teachers will find the book an invaluable voice and acting resource. It would be beneficial to all high school theatre programs to have Voice and the Young Actor as a textbook." Kim Moore, High School Teacher, Colorado There are thousands of students enrolled in school drama classes in yet very often young actors cannot be heard, are culturally encouraged to trail off at the ends of sentences, and habitually use only the lowest pitches of the voice. Drama teachers, frequently ask, "How can I get my students to speak up, to be clear, to articulate?" Voice and the Young Actor is written for the school actor, is inviting in format, language and illustration and offers clear and inspiring instructions. A DVD features 85 mins and 28 filmed voice workshop excersises with the author and two students. These students log their reflections in the book on what they have learned throughout their training and there is space for the reader to do the same. A workbook in format, Voice and the Young Actor provides simple, interactive vocal exercises and shows young performers how to take voice work into acting.
Accents and Dialects for Stage and Screen by
Industry standard on accents and dialects of the English language.
Teach Yourself Accents: A Handbook for Young Actors and Speakers by
(Limelight). Are you doing a play by Tennessee Williams? Or one of David Mamet's plays set in Chicago? Need to learn a Southern or Boston or New York or Caribbean Islands accent quickly, or do you have plenty of time? Then Teach Yourself Accents North America: A Handbook for Young Actors and Speakers is for you: an easy-to-use manual full of clear, cogent advice and fascinating information. Contemporary monologues and scenes for two are included, and an enclosed CD contains the extensive practice exercises. Perfect for the young acting student, the book will help anyone beginning a study of accents to get a rapid handle on the subject and use any accent immediately, with an authentic sound. More experienced actors who need an authoritative quick guide for an audition or for role preparation will find it equally useful, as will speakers who want to improve a specific accent or liven up a presentation with an apt anecdote. This second volume of the new Teach Yourself Accents series by Robert Blumenfeld, author of the best-selling Accents: A Manual for Actors , covers General American, the most widely used accent of Standard American English, as well as Northern and Southern regional accents, AAVE (African-American Vernacular English), Hispanic, Caribbean Islands, and Canadian English and French accents.
The Verbal Arts: A Practical Course for Speaking Text with Clarity and Expressive Power by
Actors need to learn not only how to use their voice, but to use voice and language together. This book is about the expressive potential of language, and how actors can develop the verbal skills to release that potential. Written by tutors at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art (RADA) and authors of the successful companion title, The Vocal Arts Work book + DVD, this book provides practical approaches to each aspect of verbal expression: Sound: speech sounds and how to use them more expressively Image: bring life and specificity to images when you speak Sense: focus on the most significant words and phrases in a speech or scene Rhythm: how rhythm is created and used in both verse and prose Argument: the structure or logic of language Putting it all together using one classical and one modern scene Each of the chapters consists of several sections: Framework; Exploration; Exercises; Follow-up; Suggested Texts; and Further Reading, addressing the learner throughout, but also providing Teaching Tips which give specific notes for teachers.
Voice and Speech in the Theatre by
Explains the theory and recommends proven exercises to ensure improvement in voice and speech.
Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen: Expressive Movement for Performers by
As Stage and Screen: artists explore means to enhance their craft, a new wave of interest in expressive movement and physical improvisation has developed. To bring authenticity and believability to a character, it has become increasingly vital tor actors to be aware of movement and physical acting. Stage and screen artists must now call upon physical presence, movement on stage, nonverbal interactions, and gestures to fully convey themselves. In Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen, Annette Lust provides these artists with a; program of physical and related expressive exercises that can empower their art with more creativity. Lust offers a general introduction that includes definitions and differences between movement on the stage and screen, how to conduct a class or learn on your own, and how to choose your own movement style among a variety of current schools of movement. Throughout the book and in the appendixes, Lust incorporates learning programs that connect the use of basic physical and expressive exercises for the entire body. Also included are original solo and group pantomimes; improvisational exercises; examples of plays, fiction, poetry, and songs that may be interpreted with movement; a list of training centers in America and Europe; and an extensive bibliography and videography. With fifteen interviews and essays by prominent stage and screen actors, mimes, clowns, dancers, and puppeteers who describe the importance ot movement in their art, and illustrated with dozens of photos of world-renowned companies and artists, Bringing the Body to the Stage and Screen is a valuable resource for theatre teachers and students, as well as anyone engaged in the performing arts. Book jacket.
Anatomy of Performance Training by
We train because we are human and we become human because we train. This is the surprising and original conclusion of Anatomy of Performance Training, in which John Matthews shows how training is a very human response to the problems of having a body and living in the world. Using illustrative case-studies of professional practice, each chapter addresses a specific body part, offering a self-contained discussion of its symbolic and practical significance in the artistic, and commercial, activities of training. These anatomical case-studies are cross-referenced with other disciplines (such as sport, high diving, deep diving and artisan craft) to further expand our understanding of performance. Stand-alone chapters, ideal for reference, build towards an overall conclusion that the uniquely human practice of training is emerging as a new and pervasive ideology globally. Ideal for readers seeking to understand the relationship the body has with the theatre and training, or for teachers looking for a new, innovative approach to performance, Anatomy of Performance Training is an accessible, original contribution to the philosophy of training for performance.
Movement for Actors by
In this updated rich resource for actors, renowned movement teachers and directors reveal the physical skills needed for the stage and the screen. Readers will gain remarkable insights into the physical skills and techniques used in a wide variety of performance styles through ready-to-use exercises and approaches. Included in this new edition are chapters covering: Stage combat Yoga for actors Martial arts Body-mind centering Authentic movement Bartenieff fundamentals Grotowski-based movement Those who want to pursue serious training will be able to consult the appendix for listings of the best teachers and schools in the country. This inspiring collection is a must-read for all actors, directors, and teachers of theater looking for stimulation and new approaches. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Breathing, Movement, Exploration by
(Applause Books). Breathing, Movement, Exploration is a groundbreaking approach to how to use your body. Barbara Sellers-Young combines body mechanics and eastern and western philosophy to create a new visceral awareness of the performance process. Its simple, step-by-step structure enables the reader to learn the concepts of Laban and Stanislavski while exploring eastern ideas of breath and energy. Breathing, Movement, Exploration is a useful blueprint for how to use your body on stage. It speaks to professionals as well as anyone fascinated by the inner-process of an actor's training or to gain cognitive and physical insight into one's own self.
Get the Callback: The Art of Auditioning for Musical Theatre by
Provides practical advice on the many facets of audition preparation.
Auditioning for Film and Television: Secrets from a Casting Director by
'If you're working with Nancy Bishop you know you're in good, accomplished hands, whether you're a director or an actor.' - Neil Burger, Director of The Illusionist Auditioning for Film and Television is a must-have book and video guide for actors, written from the perspective of a Casting Director and offering practical advice on audition technique, scene analysis, online casting and social media. Auditioning for Film and Television is a practical workbook written from a casting director's point of view that teaches actors the craft of film auditioning in front of the camera. It shows actors how to use today's internet technologies to advance their careers and features success strategies and actual exercises to achieve results in the casting studio. A new edition of the popular Secrets from the Casting Couch, and now including video, Auditioning for Film and Television includes commentary, analysis and questions in workbook form for scenes from many celebrated films; exercises for actors to practise in front of a camera; and advice on career advancement and marketing in the age of social media.
Auditions: A Practical Guide by
Offers advice and techniques to maximize success before, during and after each audition.
The Complete Professional Audition: A Commonsense Guide to Auditioning for Plays and Musicals by
Everything an actor needs to know about auditioning.
Winning Auditions: 101 Strategies for Actors by
Collection of actors' trade secrets tricks of the trade divulged by professionals in an experimental workshop that lasted nearly a year.
