Databases: A

Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.

AccessMedicine provides access to more than 60 medical titles (including Harrison's, CMDT 2011, and Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine), thousands of videos, images and illustrations, a drug database, practice guidelines, patient education information, interactive self assessment tools, case files, and diagnostic tools. The unique search engine looks in the metadata to provide results based on matching search terms with concepts and topics, rather than matching exact words. By focusing on broader concepts, practices, and procedures, all the relevant discussions of the topic are retrieved, even if named differently in different resources.

AccessPharmacy provides access to pharmacy references, curriculum topics, drug and herb/supplement databases, and the latest pharmacy news as well as offering virtual cases, integrated case studies and care plans to encourage the development of important decision making skills. Some of the titles included are: Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 7e; Pharmacotherapy Casebook, 7e; Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 11e; Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17e; Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 11e; Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, 5e; Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 3e; and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 5e.

ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, index terms, reviews,and the full-text for ACM conference proceedings. ACM journals, magazines, and newsletters are also available at this site, as well as through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support the U.S. National Agricultural Library's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in the database.

Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.

AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European.

America: History and Life is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.

Subject keywords: History. Interdisciplinary Studies. Popular Culture. Multicultural Studies. American Studies. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Anthropology. Literature/Folklore. Sociology. Genealogy. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.

American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. 

The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction. Magazines of these periods cover the literature, science, religion, arts, and history of the time.

Art Full Text [1984- ] (EBSCO interface) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications; now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

ArticleFirst (OCLC) is an index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals. This index covers articles, news stories, letters and other items on topics as diverse as business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology. For most items, the database also provides a list of libraries that hold the journal.

The ARTstor Digital Library also includes a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes. New collections monthly from 200+ contributors, ranging from Egyptian and other Ancient Art to The Museum of Modern Art, and from Cook's Voyages to the South Seas (Natural History Museum, London) to Eyes of the Nation: A Visual History of the United States (Library of Congress) (www.artstor.org/collections)

Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.

A&HCI also provides access to an article's cited references or the footnotes from an author's bibliography. Cited items may be critical in nature or original creative works (novels, poems, works of philosophy, paintings, musical compositions, etc.).

Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Radio, Television, & Film. Religion. Theater.

The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, including Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics. The ATLA Religion Database includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews.

ATLASerials offers full text for over 211,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 100 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.