Research Guides: Research Starter: Geology: Home

Nathanael Davis | STEM/Business Librarian

EMAIL ME

Need Assistance?

Find Your Librarian

Schedule a Research Appointment

Today's Hours:

Databases

For General Geology Articles:

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles, books, maps, reports, and other literature on geology and geosciences.
GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database indexes geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need.

USGS Publications Warehouse
Provides access to over 160,000 publications written by USGS scientists over the century-plus history of the bureau.

Creation Evolution Literature Database This link opens in a new window
Features mostly young-earth creationist articles pertaining to the creation/evolution debate, with some coverage of other views about creation and evolution.
Established in 2001 in response to the need for a freely-available computerized database of literature pertaining to the creation/evolution controversy, the goal is to archive every periodical ever published about the creation/evolution or religion/science debate.

Proceedings of the International Conference on Creationism
is a collection of peer-reviewed technical papers which seek to develop and systematize the Creation Model of origins from a young earth perspective.
Answers Research Journal
Cutting-edge creation research. Answers Research Journal (ARJ) is a professional, peer-reviewed technical journal for the publication of interdisciplinary scientific and other relevant research from the perspective of the recent Creation and the global Flood within a biblical framework.

For Background Research

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Contains the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms. Includes or has links to full text.
AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. AccessScience contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Subject keywords: Agriculture, Forestry and Soils. Anthropology and Archaeology. Astronomy and Space Science. Biological and Biomedical Science. Chemistry. Computing and Information Technology. Data, Tables, and Tools. Earth Science. Engineering and Materials. Environmental Science. Food Science and Technology. General Science and Technology. Mathematics. Medicine. Military Science. Navigation. Paleontology. Physics. Psychiatry and Psychology. Veterinary Medicine.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and citation index of agricultural research. Covers the topics of animal and veterinary science, plant biology and forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, and agriculture economics. Taken from the USDA's National Agricultural Library.
AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support the U.S. National Agricultural Library's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in the database.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text and index of abstracts for research in biological and agricultural science, including areas of agricultural industry, biochemistry, biology, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.

For Standard Protocols, Lab Methods & Photographs

Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker.
Springer Protocols is a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker. Other book series included in the protocols are: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Methods in Biotechnology, More than 22,000 protocols are available with an additional 2000 added each year. Subjects included: Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Cell Biology, Imaging/Radiology, Infectious Diseases, Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology/Toxicology, Protein Science, Bioinformatics, Cancer Research, Genetics/Genomics, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Plant Sciences

All Geology Databases

Science & Mathematics Databases

Reference Books

The Cambridge Handbook of Earth Science Data by Paul Henderson; Gideon M. Henderson
Call #: REFERENCE 550.21 H497C
Publication Date: 2009-06-11
Meteorology Today by C. Donald Ahrens; Robert Henson
Call #: MAIN 551.5 A287M
Publication Date: 2018-01-09

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology by Peter Bobrowsky (Editor); Brian Marker (Editor)
Call #: REFERENCE 624.151 E56
Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Glossary of Geology by Klaus K. E. Neuendorf
Call #: REFERENCE 550.3 G564
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Library Collection Search: Subject Headings

Search Centennial Library by subject group:

Websites

The Geological Society of America
The premier geological society supporting the advance of geoscience research and discovery, providing service to society, stewardship of Earth, and the geosciences profession.
American Geosciences Institute
Provides information services to geoscientists, plays a major role to strengthen geoscience education, and the vital role the geosciences play in society’s use of resources, resilience to natural hazards, and the health of the environment.
Institute for Creation Science
Institute for Creation Research has equipped believers with evidence of the Bible's accuracy and authority through scientific research, educational programs, and media presentations, all conducted within a thoroughly biblical framework.
U.S. Geological Survey
Provides reliable scientific information to describe and understand the Earth; minimize loss of life and property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and protect our quality of life.
NOAA - National Geophysical Data Center
Provides systematic study of the structure and behavior of the ocean, atmosphere, and related ecosystems; integration of research and analysis; observations and monitoring; and environmental modeling.
National Science Foundation - Earth Cube
A system of dynamic infrastructure and data tools to collect, access, analyze, share, and visualize all forms of geoscience data and resources, using advanced
collaboration, technological, and computational capabilities.
American Institute of Professional Geologists
Founded in 1963, AIPG is the largest association dedicated to promoting geology as a profession. It presently has more than 6,000 members in the U.S. and abroad, organized into 35 regional Sections.

Format Style

APA

Purdue OWL | APA
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
APA Quick Guide
Guide created by Centennial Library covering APA topics and how to cite your sources properly.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Ed. by American Psychological Association
Call #: MAIN 808.06615 P976
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

CSE

Council of Science Editors Manual
This is a quick guide for scientific style and format citation
Council of Science Editors - UW Writing Center
A quick guide to the CSE citation system

Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
Call #: REFERENCE 808.0666 S416
Publication Date: 2014-05-07

Research Tips: GEOLOGY

Tip #1

Use AccessScience and Google Scholar to begin your research and to identify current background information, news, videos and and related links to scholarly journals.

Tip #2

Likewise, take time to navigate the GeoRef database for specific geology-based research & visit the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) and the American Geosciences Institute for the most up to date trends and work in Geology.

Tip #3

Sign up and begin using a Citation Manager to manage your citations to create a quick bibliography and even quick in-text citations using the ProQuest RefWorks and Zotero add-ons for Google Docs and Microsoft Word.

Tip #4

Sign up for a Research Appointment with your STEM/Business Faculty Librarian for extra support in navigating databases and the research process.

Writing In: GEOLOGY

Communicating Rocks by Peter Copeland
Publication Date: 2011-07-10
Scientific endeavor begins with asking questions about the nature of the world around us and gathering data, but this work cannot be complete without effectively communicating the conclusions and data found. Instruction concerning the rules and styles of writing and speaking are addressed in relation to technical concerns specific to the Earth sciences.
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports by Christopher S. Lobban; María Schefter
Call #: MAIN 808.0665 L796W
Publication Date: 2017-07-27
Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students. This book, particularly useful for biology students, adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice.