Research Guides: Research Starter: Forensic Science: Home

Nathanael Davis | STEM/Business Librarian

EMAIL ME

Need Assistance?

Find Your Librarian

Schedule a Research Appointment

Today's Hours:

Databases

For Forensic Science Articles:

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications

Provides full-text access to technical research in chemistry including analytical, physical, biological, organic-inorganic, and material science. Includes journals published by the American Chemical Society (ACS).
Scopus

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science

Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

For Background Research

AccessScience

Contains the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms. Includes or has links to full text.

AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. AccessScience contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Subject keywords: Agriculture, Forestry and Soils. Anthropology and Archaeology. Astronomy and Space Science. Biological and Biomedical Science. Chemistry. Computing and Information Technology. Data, Tables, and Tools. Earth Science. Engineering and Materials. Environmental Science. Food Science and Technology. General Science and Technology. Mathematics. Medicine. Military Science. Navigation. Paleontology. Physics. Psychiatry and Psychology. Veterinary Medicine.
Science Reference Center

Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Environment Complete

Provides full-text access to research articles and technical reports in environmental studies. Covers topics such as ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental policy, and sustainability

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

For Systematic Reviews, Standard Protocols & Lab Methods

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.

The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. This database is updated quarterly.

All Forensic Science Databases

Reference Books

The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book by Patricia Barnes-Svarney; Thomas E. Svarney
Call #: MAIN 363.25 B261H

Publication Date: 2018-09-01
The Global Practice of Forensic Science by Douglas H. Ubelaker (Editor)
Call #: MAIN 363.25 F715

ISBN: 9781118724224

Publication Date: 2014-12-24

Reference Books

Clarke's Analytical Forensic Toxicology by Adam Negrusz (Editor); Gail Cooper (Editor)
Call #: MAIN 614.13 C612

Publication Date: 2013-05-30
Crime and Circumstance by Suzanne Bell
Call #: MAIN 363.2509 B435C

Publication Date: 2008-06-30

Library Collection Search: Subject Headings

Search Centennial Library by subject group:

Websites

American Academy of Forensic Science
Features works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
The Center for Forensic Science Research & Education
Working to advance the field of forensic science for future and current practitioners as well as members of the justice system by providing innovation, mentorship, technology and expertise
National Center for Biotechnology Information Search Database
The NCBI houses a series of databases relevant to biotechnology and biomedicine and is an important resource for bioinformatics tools and services
FBI - Counterterrorism & Forensic Science Research Laboratory
FBI Laboratory’s foundation for innovative scientific research and development as well as advanced technical support and subject matter expert consultation as needed to support operations.
Midwestern Association of Forensic Scientists
Association of scientists from the Midwest working to gather and discuss unique cases or research to help further the field and solve problems within the disciplines.
NIH - US National Library of Medicine: Visible Proofs (Forensic Science)
The National Library of Medicine the world’s largest biomedical library, NLM creates and hosts major resources, tools, and services for literature, data, standards, and more

Format Style

APA

Purdue OWL | APA
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
APA Quick Guide
Guide created by Centennial Library covering APA topics and how to cite your sources properly.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Ed. by American Psychological Association
Call #: MAIN 808.06615 P976

ISBN: 9781433832154

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

CSE

Council of Science Editors Manual
This is a quick guide for scientific style and format citation
Council of Science Editors - UW Writing Center
A quick guide to the CSE citation system

Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
Call #: REFERENCE 808.0666 S416

Publication Date: 2014-05-07

Research Tips: FORENSIC SCIENCE

Tip #1

Use AccessScience and Google Scholar to begin your research and to identify current background information, news, videos and and related links to scholarly journals.

Tip #2

Likewise, take time to navigate the ACS Publications database for specific forensic chemistry-based research & visit the The Center for Forensic Science Research & Education, National Center for Biotechnology Information Search Database (NCBI), and the FBI Forensic Science Research Laboratory for the most up to date trends and policies in Forensic Science.

Tip #3

Sign up and begin using a Citation Manager to manage your citations to create a quick bibliography and even quick in-text citations using the ProQuest RefWorks and Zotero add-ons for Google Docs and Microsoft Word.

Tip #4

Sign up for a Research Appointment with your STEM/Business Faculty Librarian for extra support in navigating databases and the research process.

Writing In: FORENSIC SCIENCE

How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Barbara Gastel; Robert A. Day
Call #: MAIN 808.0665 G255H

Publication Date: 2016-03-28

Offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. Provides practical guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports by Christopher S. Lobban; María Schefter
Call #: MAIN 808.0665 L796W

Publication Date: 2017-07-27

Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students. This book, particularly useful for biology students, adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice. The structure and content of the Introduction, Methods and Materials, Results, and Discussion are explained.
Ensuring Competent Performance in Forensic Practice by Michael J. Fereday; Keith Hadley
Call #: MAIN 363.25 H131E

Publication Date: 2007-11-19

The first book of its kind, Ensuring Competent Performance in Forensic Practice: Recovery, Analysis, Interpretation, and Reporting promotes a common understanding of competence and demonstrates the application of standards and practice in all aspects of forensic science.