Research Starter: Athletic Training

SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 350 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses. SPORTDiscus contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo - and its full-text coverage dates back to 1985.

PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

MEDLINE® with Full Text, the National Library of Medicine database, contains more than 17 million references to journal articles in the health sciences. The database provides more than 1,370 journals in fulltext, some dating back to 1949. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. This database is updated quarterly.

Physical Education Index allows all researchers and professionals in the field to acquire accurate and scholarly information in this comprehensive database. These abstracts feature a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance. Other coverage includes sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology. Health education and physical therapy are also covered as they continue to become more prevalent in our society.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.

AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European.