Welcome to the online guide to Cedarville University's Archives & Special Collections.
To begin exploring our digitized collections, read the descriptions below and click on the corresponding tiles. For more assistance or to schedule a visit to our Archives & Special Collections in Centennial Library, please email Lynn Brock, the University Archivist, or call 937-766-7846.
The Cedarville University Archives is an institutional service of the Centennial Library. It serves as the official repository for materials of historical significance to Cedarville University, including organizational and operational documents, materials which depict University life, and appropriate personal publications, papers, and memorabilia.
CedarCommons is the digital archives and online repository of the scholarship, creative works, and historical record of Cedarville University. This service represents the university's commitment to the preservation, organization, open access, and dissemination of these resources.
The Centennial Library Special Collections preserves rare, unique, and fragile items that support University teaching, research, and service. Some items of note in this collection include early English Bibles, family Bibles, historical pamphlets, sacred music, and vintage library postcards. Many of these items also document university history.
The Special Collections Exhibit Gallery displays over 12,000 high-resolution images of the rare, unique, and fragile items curated for the Cedarville University Special Collections. The gallery is hosted on the popular JSTOR research and teaching platform.
The Virtual Heritage Gallery consists of two exhibit series that correlate with rotating physical exhibits on display in the Biblical Heritage Gallery on upper level of the university's Centennial Library. These capture the history of the printed Bible and the history of the people and events of Cedarville University. The Biblical Heritage Gallery captures the history of the printed Bible and words from heroes of the faith through rare Bibles, hymns and musical scores, biographical accounts, quotations, and other unique documents. The Cedarville Heritage Gallery captures the historical people, events, documents, and artifacts from the founding of Cedarville University to present day. The virtual exhibits are on permanent display online. Physical exhibits are rotated twice each semester and are provided as a service of University Archives and Special Collections at Cedarville University.