Books - Language Family Overviews - LING 2070: Introduction to Linguistics

Books with Overviews of Language Families

These books cover the linguistic characteristics all language families, subfamilies, and their individual languages:

Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference to More than 400 Languages by Andrew Dalby
Call #: REF 403 D137D
Publication Date: 2004
This book is not as comprehensive as Ethnologue (and its statistics will be out of date because it was published in 2004), but is very easy to navigate as all the languages are listed in simple alphabetical order:
Concise Encyclopedia of Languages of the World by Keith Brown & Sarah Ogilvie (Editors-In-Chief)
Call #: REF 410.3 C744
Publication Date: 2008
Facts about the World's Languages by Jane Garry (Editor); Carl Rubino (Editor); H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call #: REF 403 F142
Publication Date: 2001
Languages of the World: An Introduction, 3rd edition by Asya Pereltsvaig
Call #: REF 417.7 P437L
Publication Date: 2021
The World's Major Languages, 3rd edition by Bernard Comrie (Editor)
Call #: REF 400 W927
Publication Date: 2018

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Linguistics
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics. Click "Browse by Subject" and select "Language Families/Areas/Contact" for entries on language families
Oxford Reference Online: Linguistics
Browse 7 reference books on Linguistics topics. Click more... below to view titles.
more...less...
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics
Dictionary Plus Linguistics
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
The Oxford Companion to the English Language
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Morphology,
Encyclopedia of Semiotics