Doing preliminary research is a great way to acquaint yourself with important phrases, concepts, and scholars surrounding your topic. It also helps you ensure there is enough existing research on your chosen topic.
These online resources/databases provide good foundational information on a variety of topics.
Concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects.
Very Short Introductions can change the way you think about the things that interest you, and are the perfect introduction to subjects you previously knew nothing about: from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Globalization to Literary Theory. Very Short Introductions online bringing together titles from this well-known and established print series, via a highly discoverable and fully cross-searchable platform.
The Advanced World Book Web includes Primary source documents, E-books, Encyclopedia articles, Images, as well as links to articles and websites.
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version of the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. New works will be added yearly and online texts will be updated after new editions of the print monographs are published.
Oxford Scholarship Online offers quick and easy access to the full text of 2,557 Oxford books and adds at least 400 new and recently-published books each year.
Oxford Scholarship Online offers quick and easy access to the full text of 2,557 Oxford books and adds at least 400 new and recently-published books each year. The topics include: Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Social Work.