Research Guides: LING 3500: Methods of Teaching Foreign Language: Key Professional Journals

Key Professional Journals

Here are key journals in the field of teaching foreign languages. Each journal is available through the Library online:

The Canadian Modern Language Review
Contains articles on pedagogy, applied linguistics, methodology, sociolinguistic classroom techniques, core, basic & French immersion & on English, German, Italian, & Spanish as second languages.
Die Unterrichtspraxis (Teaching German)
A journal devoted to the improvement and expansion of German teaching in the United States.
Foreign Language Annals
Articles on innovative and successful teaching methods, reports of educational research or experimentation or relevant to the concerns and problems of the profession of foreign language teaching.
Studies in Second Language Acquisition
A refereed journal of international scope devoted to the scientific discussion of acquisition or use of non-native and heritage languages.
TESOL Quarterly
An interdisciplinary scholarly journal of articles, reviews, book notices, commentary and brief reports and summaries addressed to those concerned with the teaching of English as a second or foreign language and of standard English as a second dialec
Language Teaching
A peer-reviewed journal that publishes research within the area of second or foreign language teaching.
Language Learning
Reviewed research articles that systematically apply methods of inquiry and theories from linguistics, cognitive science, semiotics and educational inquiry that address fundamental issues in language learning.
The Modern Language Journal
Articles on methods, pedagogical research, book reviews and topics of professional interest to all language teachers.
French Review
Covers french language, literature, pedagogy at all levels of the profession. Includes reviews of French novels, poetry, textbooks, linguistics, civilization and films.
Hispania
The official journal of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese (AATSP) covering applied linguistics, cultural studies, culture, film, language, linguistics, literary criticism, literature, and pedagogy having to do with Spanish and Portuguese.
Teaching Language Research
Peer reviewed coverage of investigation and research within the area of second or foreign language teaching. Provides research of both a qualitative and quantitative nature.

Key Linguistic Databases

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains research in linguistics and language studies, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Content includes journal articles, books, dissertations, and conference papers.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains research on all aspects of literature and languages. Source types include articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literary criticism, literary theory, modern languages, linguistics, rhetoric, drama, film, folklore, radio, and television. It covers literature from all over the world.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

LING 3500: Methods of Teaching Foreign Language

Tip!

Key Professional Journals

Here are key journals in the field of teaching foreign languages. Each journal is available through the Library online:

Key Linguistic Databases