Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

THTR 3460: Acting II

Find Full-Text Play Scripts

Online Collections

 

Library Databases

 

Browse the Shelves

Browse the downstairs stacks of Centennial Library to find full text plays, focusing on these call numbers:

Remember, not every book in these call number ranges will be a play script.  Some may be books about drama or plays in these languages. 

 

Search CU Books or OhioLINK

 

Searching for a particular play or playwright

  • Search the title of the play in quotes in the main search box (for example "a raisin in the sun")
  • Search the name of the author or playwright (for example "Hansberry, Lorraine")

 

Searching for a play on a particular topic:

  • Play scripts may or may not not include the word “play” in their title or subject descriptions. Many plays (but not all!) do include the word  “drama” in their subject descriptions.

  • Type a keyword that describes your topic or subject into the search box, like “families” or “sisters” or “Asian American”, and also include the word “drama."  Your results will NOT be comprehensive, but should give you a place to start.

How Plays are Published

A play published as a book

A single play can be published as a book. For example, the library owns An American Daughter by Wendy Wasserstein. This book contains only the script of An American Daughter and nothing else.

A collection of plays by a single author

Several plays by the same author are often published as a book. For example, The Old Neighborhood: Three Plays contains a total of three plays, all of them written by David Mamet.

A collection of plays by different authors

Collections of plays written by different authors are also often published as a book. The plays in such collections may be connected by nationality, date, style, cast, or other factors. For example, the plays collected in Women on the Verge: 7 Avant-Garde American Plays are connected by the gender and nationality of their authors and by the fact that they are considered avant-garde plays.

Modified from Theater Arts: Finding Plays in the Library by Pepperdine Libraries