Research Guides: CDMU 3620: Instrumental Conducting: Finding Scholarly Sources

Finding Scholarly Sources

Scholarly Journal Articles

Here are some recommended music and history databases for finding scholarly articles:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It is full-text searchable and includes images. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.

Areas of coverage encompass historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, librarianship, performance practice and notation, theory and analysis, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, criticism, music therapy, and interdisciplinary studies on music and various other fields, including literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, acoustics, aesthetics, anthropology, sociology, linguistics and semiotics, mathematics, philosophy, physiology, psychology, and physics.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
The Music Index is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1975 is also included.

Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List, which includes both Subject and Geographic headings. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. The thoroughness of indexing and subject heading research, along with comprehensive coverage of the music field, makes The Music Index an invaluable resource for both the novice scholar and the experienced academician.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete includes all the data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) and full text from more than 770 journals. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, books, and other humanities reference materials, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Humanities Abstracts provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities.
Humanities Abstracts provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities of which 470 are peer-reviewed dating as far back as 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations and Theses) This link opens in a new window
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
Dissertation Abstracts contains more than 2.4 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities from 1637 to the present. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. Here is the website for ordering: http://disexpress.umi.com/dxweb

View all Music & Worship databases here...