CDMU 3620: Instrumental Conducting

Covers original scores by Persichetti, Hanson, Schuman and Chance, as well as classic works by Wagner and Holst. Fennell's clear and to-the-point analysis/interpretations are based on a lifetime of careful research, rehearsals, and professional performances.

View comprehensive list of all musical pieces in this series

Five-volume series on contemporary composers and their works for wind band. Covers composers' training, compositional approach, musical influences, and interpretative ideas.

Helps conductors make the creative leap from simply reading notes to insightful musical interpretation. Covers a variety of topics on conducting and interpretation, in-depth analysis of six masterworks for band, and solutions for conducting contemporary music.

A practical guide to the artistry of wind band performance from a team of leading conductors, who share a range of approaches to the world of creative expression.

A comprehensive history of the wind band, following the development of it through the civic, court, church and military performances of the Ancient World-19th century.

A series of essays on topics as wind band history, repertoire, ethics, and education, and behind-the-scenes stories of band organizations, composers, conductors and competitions.

View comprehensive list of all musical pieces in this series

Essential reading for performing musicians of all standards, instrumental teachers, and aspiring conductors, and all who have any dealings with the performance of youth or student orchestras.

Practical approach to preparing an orchestral score for rehearsal and performance. Offers advice for virtually every musical and technical decision that occurs in the important phase between when a conductor first decides upon a specific score and the first rehearsal with an orchestra.

Guide to the rehearsal process for conducting instrumental music ensembles. Breaks down working with an ensemble, orchestra, or band into its constituent components. Includes chapters rehearsal procedures, score study, music imagery, and inner singing.

Covers the technical, aural, rehearsal, and intra-personal skills that are required concerto conducting. Both the physical technique and the score study process require a substantially different and more nuanced approach than with the major symphonic repertoire.

Examines the conductor's process of interpretation and score analysis, including the work's musical elements, the balance between intellectual understanding and intuitive feelings about a piece, and the challenges of transforming an interpretation into a performance.

Emphasizes the philosophic and aesthetic concepts of conducting, including the origins of conducting, the nature and purpose of score study, and conducting technique.

Covers the history and practice of conducting with analysis and advice directly from working conductors. Includes advice on how to conduct different types of groups (choral, opera, symphony, early music).

Reveals how conductors approach a piece of music as a calculated combination of personal interpretation, imagination, and insight into the composer's intent; what it takes to communicate solely through gesture; and the life of the itinerant maestro.

Addresses the conducting needs of beginners through professionals. Focuses individually on choral content, instrumental content, and both. Covers conducting theory, style periods, technical problems, and conducting patterns.

Offers guidance and practical advice for conducting. Begins with a look at the development of the art of conducting and goes on to discuss the technical resources required to negotiate the rhythmic complexity of music. Provides a detailed analysis of specific scores.

Presents an interpretive analysis of musical masterworks by 20 great maestros. Includes interviews on the art of conducting with Pierre Boulez, Christoph von Dohnanyi, Kurt Masur, Herbert Blomstedt, and Richard Hickox.

Offers a clear analysis of the technique of conducting, at the same time giving a fascinating glimpse of orchestral life in Hermann Scherchen's time.