Research Guides: SPAN 4740 & 4750: Civilization and Literature of Spain I and II: Scholarly Research Articles

Library Databases

Historical and Humanities-based Research

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It is full-text searchable and includes images. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America, which is covered in America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts indexes key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.

Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.

Subject keywords: History. Multicultural Studies. Sociology. Psychology. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Religion. Anthropology. Political Science. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Humanities Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on humanities disciplines including archaeology, classical studies, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion.
Humanities Abstracts provides detailed indexing for almost 700 periodicals covering the humanities of which 470 are peer-reviewed dating as far back as 1984, including feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with topics covering classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on humanities topics, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Content also includes interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Humanities International Complete includes all the data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) and full text from more than 770 journals. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, books, and other humanities reference materials, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles in the arts and humanities from 1975 to present. Not full-text but often links to full-text articles in other databases. One of the Web of Science databases.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes over 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 7,000 major science and social science journals.

A&HCI also provides access to an article's cited references or the footnotes from an author's bibliography. Cited items may be critical in nature or original creative works (novels, poems, works of philosophy, paintings, musical compositions, etc.).

Subject keywords: Archaeology. Architecture. Art. Asian Studies. Classics. Dance. Folklore. History. Language. Linguistics. Literary Reviews. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Poetry. Radio, Television, & Film. Religion. Theater.

Literary Research

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains research on all aspects of literature and languages. Source types include articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literary criticism, literary theory, modern languages, linguistics, rhetoric, drama, film, folklore, radio, and television. It covers literature from all over the world.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.

Art Research

Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides art & architecture research from academic journals, magazines, and books.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles in art.
Art Full Text [1984- ] (EBSCO interface) offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications; now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective, 1929-1984 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to art literature covering art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. Stretching back to the early 20th century, this database contains primary source material on a variety of art historical movements.
Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

Research in Spanish

Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journal articles written primarily in Spanish. Covers multiple subjects and academic areas.
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text from 260 scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.

Research Tips!

If you are looking for more research articles in Spanish, you can limit the Language to Spanish in the left sidebar:

You can also try searching using Spanish keywords, instead of English. For example, instead of searching "Spanish Golden Age" try searching "Siglo d'Oro".

Google Resources

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Google Académico
Google Scholar en Español - changes the text of Google Scholar search bars and menus to Spanish. Provides search results in both English and Spanish.

To find resources only in Spanish, choose Buscar solo paginas en espanol