Articles/Ebooks - Bible & Theology Resource Guide - #0 - Research Guides at Cedarville University

Articles

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS - Go to database list on the library website and select a database. Enter the 14 digit barcode number from your ID.

Atla Religion Database This link opens in a new window
An online collection of major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians
The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, including Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; world religions and religious studies; and theology, philosophy, and ethics. The ATLA Religion Database includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews.
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive This link opens in a new window
The Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive is a comprehensive resource for research in Bible studies and archaeology.
The Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive is a comprehensive resource for research in Bible studies and archaeology. This broad-based tool is useful for research in religion, archaeology, anthropology and Classical, Mediterranean and Near Eastern history. Biblical Archaeology Review (1975-current), Bible Review (1985-current) and Archaeology Odyssey (1998-current) are available full text as well as five BAS books.

Searching by keyword, subject and author, as well as browsing through individual issues is available.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes over one hundred selected publications from the broad spectrum of knowledge. Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity.
Beginning in 1956 with coverage of 20 titles, CPI currently indexes over 100 selected publications from the broad spectrum of knowledge including science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education. Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete includes all the data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) and full text from more than 770 journals. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, books, and other humanities reference materials, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It is full-text searchable and includes images. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
New Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between American Theological Library Association and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,100 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, nearly 800 current books are also summarized annually.

Subject areas: New Testament General, Gospels--Acts, Epistles--Revelation, Biblical Theology, and World of the New Testament
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included.
Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between American Theological Library Association and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Religion and Philosophy Collection covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With over 250 full text peer-reviewed journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975.
Religious & Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts published in Volumes 1 (1958) of the print version of Religious & Theological Abstracts, and over 4,000 abstracts that have not appeared in the print version.
Includes abstracts published in Volumes 1 (1958) on of the print version of Religious & Theological Abstracts, and over 4,000 abstracts that have not appeared in the print version. It includes a wide range of journals including Christian, Jewish, and other world religions, and provides English language abstracts of research in French, German, Dutch, Swedish, Norwegian, Afrikaans, Hebrew, Italian, and Spanish.

You can search by: title, author, year published, biblical reference or any word or phrase
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also covers individually selected, relevant items from leading natural and physical science journals. The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts (science and social sciences), and cited references. Researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geriatrics. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Language & linguistics. Law. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Rehabilitation. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Womens studies.