Databases: E

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects, including a large number of books on religion. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. This collection operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.

Education Full Text indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information technology. Education Full Text cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbo oks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Indexing coverage starts in 1983, abstracting in 1994, and full text in 1996.

Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

EI Engineering Village is a cross database searching service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, GeoBase, NTIS and Referex. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering all engineering disciplines. Online coverage is from 1884 to date. Ei Patents comprises millions of patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database contains citations to unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy, and the U.S. Department of Defense. Materials cited date from 1899 to the present. Referex Engineering is comprised of six collections of full-text searchable engineering reference e-books.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center contains electronic books from these publishers:
•ABC-CLIO: educational reference books – encyclopedias, handbooks, biographical collections, guides – on many specialized topics, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. 
•Gale: reference books published by Thomson Gale; also includes a few reference books from Macmillan, Saur, and Scribner. 
•Oxford University Press: important scholarly books, both classic and newly-published works, in the humanities and social sciences. Oxford imprints include OUP Oxford, OUP USA, and Clarendon Press. 
•Sage: encyclopedias and reference handbooks from the Sage eReference catalog, mainly in the social sciences. 
•Springer: high-quality scientific, technological and medical books. Springer imprints also include Apress, Birkhäuser, Physica-Verlag, Steinkopff, and others.

Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK) includes the full text of more than 4300 online research journals covering many subject areas. Many OhioLINK-managed electronic indexes link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. The EJC also links to the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes (Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences) for information about cited references. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK) is a free online database of masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from graduate students in participating Ohio colleges and universities.

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

The reference work features works produced in Europe that make some mention of the discovery and emerging awareness of the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.