Research Guides: Databases: H

H

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction This link opens in a new window
Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
HarpWeek is the electronic version of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871. HarpWeek includes all the pages of Harper's Weekly as scanned images, together with a series of indexes. Harper's Weekly was a leading national weekly during the second half of the nineteenth-century, providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. HarpWeek includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps from the weekly. It also includes biographical information about period leaders.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information covering topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features full text for over 130 journals and searchable full text for over 130 health reference books. Also included are more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish); Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to 1,100 drug monograph entries and 2,700 patient education fact sheets; and Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for almost 850 journals. This product offering also includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America, which is covered in America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts indexes key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.

Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.

Subject keywords: History. Multicultural Studies. Sociology. Psychology. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Religion. Anthropology. Political Science. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Quantitative facts of American history
Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history. HSUS provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting their own particular areas of interest.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, proceedings, and other literature in the history of science, technology and medicine, and allied historical fields.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine is a resource for the history of science, technology, and medicine, and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. HSTM indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in all scientific disciplines and related fields. Citations reflect the contents of nearly 9,500 journals.

This database incorporates four separately created bibliographies: Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza, and Wellcome Bibliography of the History of Medicine.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
The Hoover's database provides information on more than 12 million public and private companies, including companies that have gone out of business, in more than 600 worldwide industries.
The Hoover's database provides information on more than 12 million public and private companies, including companies that have gone out of business, in more than 600 worldwide industries. Information available includes in-depth industry analysis, summary financials, top competitors and officers, SEC filings, and news. Using the Hoovers information customized reports can be created.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for journals, books and other resources in the humanities.
Humanities International Complete includes all the data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) and full text from more than 770 journals. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, books, and other humanities reference materials, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.