Research Guides: Databases: P

P

PapersFirst
Index of papers presented at conferences.
PapersFirst is an index of papers presented at conferences. It cites the papers from every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at The British Library Document Supply Centre. PapersFirst covers a wide range of subjects.
Philosopher's Index
Current and comprehensive scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Philosopher's Index complete coverage of all major articles from anthologies and books written in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French -- over 480 journals from 38 countries
Play Index
Index of plays from classical antiquity to present. Play descriptions include plot summaries, cast requirements, set requirements, music requirements, target audience age group, and subjects covered. Does not include full-text of plays.
Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
ProceedingsFirst
Index of conference proceedings.
ProceedingsFirst is an index of conference proceedings. It cites the printed proceedings of every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received at The British Library Document Centre. ProceedingsFirst covers a wide range of subjects.
Professional Development Collection [Educators]
Index, abstracts, and full text for professional educators.
Professional Development Collection [Educators] provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators, professional librarians and education researchers. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. The Professional Development Collection includes abstract and index coverage for over 585 well-known professional development titles, and searchable full text for 504 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Provides access to articles related to nursing, allied health, and other healthcare fields.
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides complete information from leading nursing and related publications. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health-care facilities as well as students enrolled in nursing programs at academic institutions. All source publications are available in ASCII full-text format; most also offer articles in full-image and Text+Graphics.

This database offers complete text and images from such journals as Nursing, Nursing Management, Nursing Economics, Nursing Forum, RN, Journal of Nursing Education, Nurse Practitioner, Nurse Researcher, and Nursing Diagnosis.

It also covers such publications as Alternative Therapies in Health and Medicine, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Occupational Therapy International, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.

For several publications, full-text coverage dates from 1992. For some, full-image articles go back to 1988; Text+Graphics, to 1996. Overall, articles in the full-image and Text+Graphics formats are available from more than 270 publications.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes full text for 550 peer-reviewed journals. Nearly all full text publications included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
PsycINFO
Covers psychology as well as the behavioral and social sciences. Includes articles, books, chapters, dissertations, reports, and more.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1900 periodicals written in over 24 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.