Research Guides: Databases: O

O

OAIster
OAIster is a catalog of over 22 million free full-text digital resources from over 1,100 contributors hosted at the University of Michigan.
OAIster, which gets its name from Open Archives Initiative, includes such items as digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets (e.g., downloadable statistics files). It includes resources that are often hidden from search engines knows as the 'deep web' and is searchable by entire text, title, author/creator, subject, and language. OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
OhioLINK Finding Aid Repository
Descriptions of archival collections from contributing institutions in Ohio.
OhioLINK Finding Aid Repository allows researchers to search finding aids across institutions to locate archival materials and primary sources across the state.
The EAD Finding Aid Creation Tool and OhioLINK Repository (EAD FACTORy) will help archivists ensure broad-based access to archival collections and local history collections by providing a solution for institutions wishing to create and deliver finding aids according to the Encoded Archival Description standard. Finding aids are descriptive tools that come in a variety of formats and levels of detail that describe the contents of archival or manuscript collections. EAD is an international standard for encoding archival finding aids, making them standardized in structure as well as more predictably searchable in collaborative electronic repository environments.
OhioLINK Music Center
The OhioLINK Music Center, a subset of the Naxos Music Library, is an online streaming music database of international works from Classical to Spoken Word. The 78,000+ tracks, 21,000+ works can be searched or browsed by track, title, performer, album, composer and date of composition. Flash player is required. Access to the music files is restricted to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK member institutions.
Old Testament Abstracts
Collection of article and book abstracts about the Old Testament.
Old Testament Abstracts is a product of a partnership between American Theological Library Association and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is a full-text resource covering today's hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control.
Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Thomson Gale imprints, Opposing Viewpoints in Context brings together all the information that's needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy, The
An e-book dictionary of terms and concepts from all areas of philosophy, as well as biographies of influential philosophers.
This dictionary contains recent terms and concepts in philosophy and 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers.
Oxford English Dictionary
Online dictionary covering meaning, history, and usage of words across the English-speaking world.

Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis, listings of variant spellings, and shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

The online OED corresponds to the Second Edition (20 volumes in print).
Oxford Reference Online
E-book collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and research companions published by Oxford University Press. Organized into subject areas including the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Oxford Scholarship Online offers quick and easy access to the full text of 2,557 Oxford books and adds at least 400 new and recently-published books each year.
Oxford Scholarship Online offers quick and easy access to the full text of 2,557 Oxford books and adds at least 400 new and recently-published books each year. The topics include: Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics, Music, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, and Social Work.