Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How To Do Research: Using Search Skills/Tools to Find What They Say

Help Is Here!

What to Expect...

"Can I find
information on
my topic?"
might make you feel
uncertain and even threatened!

Don't Waist Time!

If you can't
find information

on your topic, ask for help from a teacher or librarian.

Finding Needed Information

How do you know when you have the right information?

1. Make sure it
    supports
    your topic
 
2. Ask your
    teacher if
    you have missed

   important information.

How do you know when you have enough information?

1. You stop seeing new
    information

2. You keep seeing the
    same books and
    articles cited

 

How to Read a Citation

Georgia Tech Library

Cornell University Library

  If you only have a citation to
  an article and need the full-
  text, click here.

Search Skills

Search Skills
can help you find what scholars and students say about your topic
  • Search other works by the same author.
  • Search citations in footnotes & bibliographies from relevant books & articles.
  • Do a citation analysis.
  • Choose discipline-specific databases.
  • Use Boolean logic and truncation techniques.
  • Use search Limiters - year, peer-reviewed, format.
  • Look at major books and journals in the field.
  • Set search alerts.
  • Choose scholars and students with different perspectives.

 

             If your 1st search strategy
                  doesn't work,  
                       try another one!

Search Tools

Search Tools
 
  • Encyclopedias - Why an encyclopedia?  
             1. To learn general information about your Topic.
             2. To know what questions to ask.
             3. To refine and refocus your Topic.
 
          Examples:

             The New Encyclopaedia Britannica (paper)  

                    World Book Encyclopedia (online)    

  • Reference books

         CU Catalog Advance Search

             1. Type search term
             2. Limit by Reference

         Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

         Bibliographies  Two ways to access these:

             1. Click advanced search in the CU catalog & search
                 "bibliography" as SUBJECT + limit Location to
                 "Reference".
              2. Look up call numbers R 010-019 in Reference collection.
 
          Resource Guides
 
  • Other books

         CU catalog                  OhioLINK

         WoldCat                      Google Books

 
  • Articles in Databases (saved searches & search alerts)

         Sample of databases

         Academic Search Complete            JSTOR

          LexisNexis Academic                      Opposing Viewpoints

         ATLASerials, Religion Collection     Google Scholar

         Which databases are best for your subjects?

         Art                       International Studies  Political Science

         Criminal Justice  Literature                    Religions

         Education           Marketing                    Theater             

How is Information Organized?

Library
Organization Systems


This is what our library uses.
 

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find a book or article in our library?

Try OhioLINK or Interlibrary Loan!

 
  Luann &
  her staff
  are ready
  to help
  you!
 
What is OhioLINK and ILL?

A cooperative borrowing and lending service among libraries.

How long will it take?
books 7-10 days
articles 1-7 days

Let's Get Organized

 Organize your

information

1. Start an outline.

2. Write down your thoughts
    as you go - it will save

    time later.

     People, Places, Ideas
     Citations in footnotes &

     bibliographies - put into

  

3. Mark notes on articles
    and "bookmark" cards
    or document.