Research Guides: HLMU 3310: Music History I: Gathering Background Research

Background Research

Start your research with online encyclopedias and reference books in the Library. They'll provide helpful background information on your topic.

Reference Books

Music History in General

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call #: R 780.3 G812
This is the big one -- 20 thick volumes packed full of information on musical history, composers, artists and more.
The Oxford History of Western Music
Call #: R 780.9 T196O
A collection of essays on the history of Western music. The first two volumes can be especially helpful for you if you need ideas for your research paper.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Call #: R 780.3 H341
Publication Date: 2003
This classic reference work is the best one-volume music dictionary available. With authoritative scholarship, it's the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music.

History of Musical Instruments

The Complete Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments: A Comprehensive Guide to Musical Instruments from Around the World
Call #: R 784.19 O46C
This handy reference work contains information on the history of music and musical instruments. Check out the A-Z glossary and extensive bibliography.
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments: From All Eras and Regions of the World
Call #: R 784.1903 I29I
Publication Date: 2001
Clearly arranged, the structure of the book provides a quick overview of the history, symbolism, construction and playing technique of each of the instruments discussed.

Online Encyclopedias & Reference e-Books

Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Online music encyclopedia offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, instruments, and music scholarship. Contains The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Updated frequently, Grove Music Online is an essential tool for anyone interested in researching, teaching, or just learning more about music. Written and edited by more than 9,000 subject experts, Grove’s 57,000 articles offer clear overviews of topics from a scholarly perspective and include extensive bibliographies, which are curated to guide users through existing scholarship. Grove’s 40,000 biographical articles provide life information and detailed works lists for composers, performers, and other important musical figures. Grove Music Online also features more than 6,000 images, musical examples, and links to audio and video examples. It is the perfect starting point for scholarly research, but with a clear and engaging writing style, Grove is easily accessible to amateur music-lovers as well.
Garland Music Online (Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online) This link opens in a new window
E-book version of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, covering music research on all the world's peoples organized by continent.
Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.