When gathering scholarly research, think about the many different types of sources you could use:
Leading database for criminal justice and criminology research. Provides top journals and magazines covering forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law and investigation.
Contains research on every dimension of security & counter-terrorism. Includes scholarly journals and reports from the Congressional Research Service and Homeland Security.
The International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center (ISCTRC) contains information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues, combining deep background from scholarly writings with expert commentary from a variety of organizations, agencies and publisher and timely reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social and technical spectrum. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It is full-text searchable and includes images. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1.
Provides peer-reviewed articles related to sociology, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, social work, and more.
SocINDEX is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX contains informative abstracts for more than 815 'core' coverage journals dating back to 1895, of which 397 are full text, dating back to 1908. SocINDEX provides data mined from more than 630 'priority' coverage journals, with full text for 150 of them, as well as information from 2,840 'selective' coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX also includes full text for over 700 books and monographs and for almost 6,750 conference paper. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
SocINDEX includes over 10,000 author profiles. These profiles include biographical and bibliographical information for the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently search authors. Profiles are continually updated and added.
Contains articles from law journals and case studies. Covers law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and more.
Legal Collection is a collection of scholarly, peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. This database provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more. This database is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.
Covers psychology as well as the behavioral and social sciences. Includes articles, books, chapters, dissertations, reports, and more.
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1900 periodicals written in over 24 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present.
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory, comparative politics, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations. Contains conference papers from the Political Science Association.
Political Science Complete is a full-text research database covering political topics with a worldwide focus, including international relations, political theory and comparative politics. With hundreds of full-text journals, reference books and thousands of conference papers, it is a valuable resource for political science researchers and government institutions.
Contains articles from political science journals from every region of the world. Covers areas of political science, political communications, international relations, international law, human rights, conflict studies, and ethnic studies.
International Political Science Abstracts includes current indexing and abstracts from over 1000 of the world's leading journals in political science.
Covers areas related to ethnic and racial studies, including discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
A dynamic tool to search datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.