Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Includes or has links to full text.
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments.
AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European.
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. This database is updated quarterly.
PubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
AccessPharmacy provides access to pharmacy references, curriculum topics, drug and herb/supplement databases, and the latest pharmacy news.
AccessPharmacy provides access to pharmacy references, curriculum topics, drug and herb/supplement databases, and the latest pharmacy news as well as offering virtual cases, integrated case studies and care plans to encourage the development of important decision making skills. Some of the titles included are: Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 7e; Pharmacotherapy Casebook, 7e; Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 11e; Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 17e; Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 11e; Applied Biopharmaceutics & Pharmacokinetics, 5e; Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 3e; and Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 5e.
PharmacyLibrary features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
Offers online access to the most up-to-date drug information enabling better therapeutic decisions in less time.
Resources include A To Z drug facts, Black box warnings, Chemotherapy resources, Don't crush/chew, Drug facts & comparisons, Immunization schedules, Interaction resources, Investigational drugs, Look alike/sound alike, Manufacturer index, Nonprescription drug therapy, Normal laboratory values, Off-label drug facts, Orphan drugs, Patient assistance programs, Patient handouts, Pregnancy and lactation warnings, Review of natural products, Toxicology guidelines, Hospital pharmacy journal
Contains detailed, evidence-based data on natural medicines, herbal medicines, and dietary supplements to assist pharmacists, physicians, nurse practitioners, dietitians and others in providing patient care.
“Clinical practice guidelines are systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.”(Institute of Medicine, 1990)
ECRI Guidelines Trust is a publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content. Its purpose is to provide physicians, nurses, other clinical specialties, and members of the healthcare community with up-to-date clinical practices to advance safe and effective patient care. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.
Guideline Central is dedicated to providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical decision-support tools that are current, practical, and easily accessible. We partner with over thirty-five medical societies and government agencies to provide quick-reference tools that physicians can rely on for credible guidance in the management of a medical condition.
Navigating the "real world" after pharmacy school is smoother if you're equipped with the right advice and resources. In this book, Jennifer Askew draws on her experience as a student, resident, hospital and community pharmacist, preceptor, supervisor, and volunteer to guide new pharmacists through actions, behaviors, and decisions that lead to a successful career. Askew shares her own lessons and the perspectives of other pharmacists while covering key topics in the transition from student to pharmacist: gaining board licensure, choosing a career path, preparing resumes, managing interviews, handling job offers, fitting into the workplace, and achieving personal and professional success.
This collection of more than 100 stories reveals the many facets of pharmacy practice--the joys and sadness, achievements and setbacks. In their diverse and engaging voices, the authors explore their profession with honesty, insight, and humor. Their personal accounts encompass day-to-day life, professional training, military service, ethics, working with patients, humorous experiences, death and dying, and lessons learned.
This is an easy-to-follow handbook that introduces readers to entry-level clinical job opportunities and explains how to qualify for them, with a particular emphasis on how to gain clinical experience that a hiring manager will accept. Each chapter covers one of the clinical specialties involved in conducting pharmaceutical clinical trials: for example, clinical research associate, clinical data manager, biostatistician, and clinical drug safety specialist. The chapters are written as personalized narratives, allowing the reader to follow the daily work of a clinical specialist as he or she supports a clinical study and interacts with the other study team members. The descriptions of these specialists are composite profiles that incorporate the true-to-life experiences of typical clinical study team members. A list of career options available to workers after mastering their entry-level clinical position, as well as a tool box for those seeking a position, are included.