Research Starter: Biomedical Engineering

EI Engineering Village is a cross database searching service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, GeoBase, NTIS and Referex. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering all engineering disciplines. Online coverage is from 1884 to date. Ei Patents comprises millions of patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database contains citations to unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy, and the U.S. Department of Defense. Materials cited date from 1899 to the present. Referex Engineering is comprised of six collections of full-text searchable engineering reference e-books.

PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.

AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.

Knovel is an engineering decision-support solution enabling engineers to solve problems faster. With powerful search and interactive analytical tools, engineers can confidently find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations and materials and substances data from more than 120 providers. For more than 15 years, Knovel has helped thousands of engineers and researchers from leading companies and institutions around the world enhance research and productivity, achieve operational excellence, reduce costs and time to market and build expertise.