Research Starter: Management

The Hoover's database provides information on more than 12 million public and private companies, including companies that have gone out of business, in more than 600 worldwide industries. Information available includes in-depth industry analysis, summary financials, top competitors and officers, SEC filings, and news. Using the Hoovers information customized reports can be created.

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

Human Resources Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resource management, employee assistance, organizational behavior, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Human Resources, Human Resource Management, and Human Resource Development International.

The Value Line Investment Survey is an unbiased collection of data and performance analysis of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities. It has three parts: 1)
The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports about approximately 1,700 companies and approximately 98 industries, 2) The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the Investment Survey as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results, and 3) The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups about interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics.

Vocational and Career Collection is designed to meet vocational and technical research needs. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for over 600 journals, and full text for 350 of these trade and industry related periodicals. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.

With more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources, Nexis Uni helps students find credible sources including: Print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; Local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790; Unparalleled business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.

Regional Business News is a collection of 75 full text business journals, newspapers and newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world. Information provided by these sources covers business, political, economic and other diverse, international news events.

Claritas Segmentation & Market Solutions is an intuitive web application that allows you to quickly and seamlessly measure consumer demand and evaluate your locations and markets. This easy - to - use application will allow you to better understand consumers who are more likely to buy your product or service, and the markets where they live, so you can create more efficient marketing strategies and customized messages to more effectively reach them.

Small Business Reference Center offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. Also included are state-specific resources, start-up business plans, and industry information.