Research Starter: Mechanical Engineering

EI Engineering Village is a cross database searching service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Databases include: Compendex, EI Patents, GeoBase, NTIS and Referex. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports covering all engineering disciplines. Online coverage is from 1884 to date. Ei Patents comprises millions of patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. GeoBase is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database contains citations to unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy, and the U.S. Department of Defense. Materials cited date from 1899 to the present. Referex Engineering is comprised of six collections of full-text searchable engineering reference e-books.

ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, index terms, reviews,and the full-text for ACM conference proceedings. ACM journals, magazines, and newsletters are also available at this site, as well as through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. AccessScience contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Subject keywords: Agriculture, Forestry and Soils. Anthropology and Archaeology. Astronomy and Space Science. Biological and Biomedical Science. Chemistry. Computing and Information Technology. Data, Tables, and Tools. Earth Science. Engineering and Materials. Environmental Science. Food Science and Technology. General Science and Technology. Mathematics. Medicine. Military Science. Navigation. Paleontology. Physics. Psychiatry and Psychology. Veterinary Medicine.

Knovel is an engineering decision-support solution enabling engineers to solve problems faster. With powerful search and interactive analytical tools, engineers can confidently find answers to technical questions through best practice insights, validated equations and materials and substances data from more than 120 providers. For more than 15 years, Knovel has helped thousands of engineers and researchers from leading companies and institutions around the world enhance research and productivity, achieve operational excellence, reduce costs and time to market and build expertise.

Energy & Power Source is a comprehensive full-text database designed to support the informational needs of the energy and power industries at all levels. This collection provides unmatched full-text coverage of information relevant to many areas integral to the energy and power industries, encompassing all component industries within, including those focused on coal, electric power, natural gas, nuclear power, petroleum, renewable energy (including hydroelectric power, wind power, solar power, alternative fuels, etc.) This product provides vital information for professionals involved at any level within the energy and power industries, including distribution, exploration, extraction, marketing, processing, production, research, and selling. Energy & Power Source offers cover-to-cover indexing from nearly 5,100 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with energy industry-related issues. Hundreds of key energy-focused industry and market reports are also included. This database also features tens of thousands of additional energy industry articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications.

All such standards are developed by a consensus standards process managed by the ASCE Codes and Standards Committee (CSC). The consensus process includes balloting by the balanced standards committee and reviewing during a public comment period. All standards are updated or reaffirmed by the same process every five to ten years.