Research Guides: Research Starter: Pre-Med & Pre-Vet Biology: Home

Nathanael Davis | STEM/Business Librarian

EMAIL ME

Need Assistance?

Find Your Librarian

Schedule a Research Appointment

Today's Hours:

Databases

For Human & Animal Biology Articles:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, includes over 18 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, as well as: The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE. Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing. Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's database that contains more than 30 million journal articles in the areas of life sciences, healthcare, and biomedicine.
MEDLINE® with Full Text, the National Library of Medicine database, contains more than 17 million references to journal articles in the health sciences. The database provides more than 1,370 journals in fulltext, some dating back to 1949. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides articles primarily related to nursing and allied health, with resources dating back to 1937.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for more than 3000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet.

For Background Research

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment
AMED - The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on alternative medicines in healthcare.
AMED provides an alternative medicine database for physicians, therapists, medical researchers and clinicians looking to learn more about alternative treatments - including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, rehabilitation, podiatry, palliative care, and more. AMED contains basic bibliographic records (abstracts are also included for many records dated 1995 onward) for relevant articles from over 500 journals, with the scope of coverage being mainly European.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Contains the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms. Includes or has links to full text.
AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. AccessScience contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Subject keywords: Agriculture, Forestry and Soils. Anthropology and Archaeology. Astronomy and Space Science. Biological and Biomedical Science. Chemistry. Computing and Information Technology. Data, Tables, and Tools. Earth Science. Engineering and Materials. Environmental Science. Food Science and Technology. General Science and Technology. Mathematics. Medicine. Military Science. Navigation. Paleontology. Physics. Psychiatry and Psychology. Veterinary Medicine.

For Systematic Reviews, Standard Protocols & Lab Methods

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains full text articles, as well as protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.
The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias. Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually. This database is updated quarterly.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker.
Springer Protocols is a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker. Other book series included in the protocols are: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Methods in Biotechnology, More than 22,000 protocols are available with an additional 2000 added each year. Subjects included: Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Cell Biology, Imaging/Radiology, Infectious Diseases, Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology/Toxicology, Protein Science, Bioinformatics, Cancer Research, Genetics/Genomics, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Plant Sciences

All Pre-Med & Pre-Vet Databases

Reference Books

Gray's Anatomy by Susan Standring (Editor-In-Chief)
Call #: REFERENCE 611 G779G41
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
Bioethics by Stephen Holland
Call #: MAIN 174.2 H737B
Publication Date: 2016-12-05

Reference Books

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Laurie J. Fundukian; Gale Group Staff (Contribution by)
Call #: REFERENCE 616.003 G151
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Medical and Veterinary Entomology by Gary R. Mullen (Editor); Lance A. Durden (Editor)
Call #: MAIN 614.432 M489
Publication Date: 2018-10-02

Library Collection Search: Subject Headings

Search Centennial Library by subject group:

Websites

National Institutes of Health
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges
The AAVMC promotes and protects the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by generating new knowledge and preparing the high quality veterinary workforce.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The leading national public health institute of the United States. The CDC is a United States federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services and is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia.
National Center for Biotechnology Information Search Database
The NCBI houses a series of databases relevant to biotechnology and biomedicine and is an important resource for bioinformatics tools and services

Format Style

APA

Purdue OWL | APA
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
APA Quick Guide
Guide created by Centennial Library covering APA topics and how to cite your sources properly.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Ed. by American Psychological Association
Call #: MAIN 808.06615 P976
ISBN: 9781433832154
Publication Date: 2019-10-01

AMA

Citation Guide Centennial Library | AMA
American Medical Association's quick guide for medical and scientific style and format citation
AMA Style Guide - OWL Purdue Writing Center
This resource discusses references page formatting for the American Medical Association (AMA) style sheet. AMA was developed by the American Medical Association for the purpose of writing medical research.

AMA Manual of Style by Cheryl Iverson (Editor); Stacy Christiansen (Editor); Annette Flanagin (Editor); JAMA and Archives Journals Staff (Editor)
Call #: MAIN 808.06661 A479
Publication Date: 2007-03-15

Research Tips: HUMAN & ANIMAL BIOLOGY

Tip #1

Use AccessScience and Google Scholar to begin your research and to identify current background information, news, videos and and related links to scholarly journals.

Tip #2

Likewise, take time to navigate the PubMed & MedLine database for specific medical and veterinary research & visit the National Center for Biotechnology Information Search Database (NCBI) and the National Institutes of Health for the most up to date research, news and work in Medicine & Veterinary Science.

Tip #3

Sign up and begin using a Citation Manager to manage your citations to create a quick bibliography and even quick in-text citations using the ProQuest RefWorks and Zotero add-ons for Google Docs and Microsoft Word.

Tip #4

Sign up for a Research Appointment with your STEM/Business Faculty Librarian for extra support in navigating databases and the research process.

Writing In: HUMAN & ANIMAL BIOLOGY

A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by Karin Knisely
Call #: MAIN 808.06657 K71S
Publication Date: 2009-04-10
This book provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology.
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports by Christopher S. Lobban; María Schefter
Call #: MAIN 808.0665 L796W
Publication Date: 2017-07-27
Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students. This book, particularly useful for biology students, adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice.