Research Guides: Research Starter: STEM Education: Home

Nathanael Davis | STEM/Business Librarian

EMAIL ME

Need Assistance?

Find Your Librarian

Schedule a Research Appointment

Today's Hours:

Databases

For General STEM Education Articles:

MathSciNet

Provides full-text access to research in mathematics, both applied and theoretical. Includes mathematical reviews, journal articles, and historical accounts from a wide variety of fields such as computer science, physics, engineering, informatics, and analytics.

MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present).

Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. MR covers articles and books in applied areas that contain new mathematical results or give novel and interesting applications of known mathematics. The full text of all reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included.

Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications.

Approximately 1700 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
Scopus

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources. It's designed to find the information scientists need.
Web of Science

Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

ERIC - Institute of Education Sciences
Database of journals, articles, videos, etc. in Education Science which provides scientific evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and to share this information in formats that are useful and accessible.

Education Research Complete

Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications in education research.

Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

Curriculum Materials Center
Find the perfect resource for your project or lesson by browsing images of our Teaching Aids collection. Photographs of all CMC teaching aids are organized by subject area.

For Background Research

AccessScience

Contains the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, and The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms. Includes or has links to full text.

AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. AccessScience contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Subject keywords: Agriculture, Forestry and Soils. Anthropology and Archaeology. Astronomy and Space Science. Biological and Biomedical Science. Chemistry. Computing and Information Technology. Data, Tables, and Tools. Earth Science. Engineering and Materials. Environmental Science. Food Science and Technology. General Science and Technology. Mathematics. Medicine. Military Science. Navigation. Paleontology. Physics. Psychiatry and Psychology. Veterinary Medicine.
Science Reference Center

Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus

Provides full text and index of abstracts for research in biological and agricultural science, including areas of agricultural industry, biochemistry, biology, veterinary science, wildlife management and environmental science.

For Curriculum Materials, Standard Protocols & Lab Methods

Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) - CU Library
Collection includes children's and young adult literature, content-area textbooks from a variety of publishers and other curricular materials, courses of study, instructional aids, educational media, and other materials suitable for PreK-12 classrooms.

Springer Protocols

A comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker.

Springer Protocols is a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker. Other book series included in the protocols are: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Methods in Biotechnology, More than 22,000 protocols are available with an additional 2000 added each year. Subjects included: Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Cell Biology, Imaging/Radiology, Infectious Diseases, Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology/Toxicology, Protein Science, Bioinformatics, Cancer Research, Genetics/Genomics, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Plant Sciences

ALL STEM Education Databases

Reference Books

A Teaching Guide to Revitalizing STEM Education by Daryao Khatri
Call #: MAIN 500.712 K45T

Publication Date: 2012-11-13
Designing Effective Science Instruction by Anne Tweed
Call #: MAIN 507.1 T971D

Publication Date: 2009-11-01

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Science Education by Richard Gunstone (Editor)
Call #: REFERENCE 510.3 W433C2

ISBN: 9400761651

Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by Stephen Lerman (Editor)
Call #: REFERENCE 503 V271

ISBN: 9400749775

Publication Date: 2014-07-03

Library Collection Search: Subject Headings

Search Centennial Library by subject group:

Websites

NSTA - National Science Teaching Association
The largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all.
AMTE - Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators
AMTE serves the mathematics teacher education community through publication resources including collaborative scholarly works and online supplemental materials
Institute of Education Sciences
Database of journals, articles, videos, etc. in Education Science which provides scientific evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and to share this information in formats that are useful and accessible.
American Educational Research Association
A professional organization representing education researchers in the U.S. and serving to advance knowledge about education and promote the use of research in practice
National Science Foundation - STEM Education Database
STEM Education Resource website, where you can discover the answers to important questions on science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and careers
NASA STEM Engagement
A searchable database of STEM resources and opportunities for students and educators
Khan Academy
Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.

Format Style

APA

Purdue OWL | APA
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citation and the References page, as well as APA sample papers, slide presentations, and the APA classroom poster.
APA Quick Guide
Guide created by Centennial Library covering APA topics and how to cite your sources properly.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 7th Ed. by American Psychological Association
Call #: MAIN 808.06615 P976

ISBN: 9781433832154

Publication Date: 2019-10-01

CSE & IES

U.S. Department of Education - IES Style Guide
This is the Institute of Education Sciences guide for education research style and format
Council of Science Editors - UW Writing Center
A quick guide to the CSE citation system

Scientific Style and Format by Council of Science Editors
Call #: REFERENCE 808.0666 S416

Publication Date: 2014-05-07

Research Tips: EDUCATION

Tip #1

Use AccessScience and Google Scholar to begin your research and to identify current background information, news, videos and and related links to scholarly journals.

Tip #2

Likewise, take time to navigate the ERIC Database & Science Reference Center database for specific education and STEM-based research & visit the National Science Teachers Association and the National Science Foundataion STEM Education Database for the most up to date research, news and work in STEM Education.

Tip #3

Sign up and begin using a Citation Manager to manage your citations to create a quick bibliography and even quick in-text citations using the ProQuest RefWorks and Zotero add-ons for Google Docs and Microsoft Word.

Tip #4

Sign up for a Research Appointment with your STEM/Business Faculty Librarian for extra support in navigating databases and the research process.

Writing & Research In: EDUCATION

Handbook of Research on Teaching by Drew Gitomer (Editor); Courtney Bell (Editor)
Call #: MAIN 370.72 H236

Publication Date: 2016-05-02

The fifth edition of the Handbook of Research on Teaching is an essential resource for students and scholars dedicated to the study of teaching and learning. It offers a vast array of topics ranging from the history of teaching to technological and literacy issues.
Writing Undergraduate Lab Reports by Christopher S. Lobban; María Schefter
Call #: MAIN 808.0665 L796W

Publication Date: 2017-07-27

Writing clear, impactful reports is a crucial skill for science students. This book, particularly useful for biology students, adopts a hands-on approach, using example reports and published papers as models to put guidance into practice.