Research Guides: SPAN 4670: Civilization & Literature of Latin America II: Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed for Dr. Loach's SPAN 4670 course.

Here you will find links to databases, books, and other resources that will help you in your research this semester.

The librarians here at the Centennial Library are available to serve you in any we can. Please see our contact info on the left and let us know if you need assistance. Thank you!

"Map-Latin America". Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons.

Online Resources

CIA World Fact Book
LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
Organización de los Estados Americanos
Washington Office on Latin America
Google | México
Google | Chile
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
Biblioteca Nacional Mariano Moreno
Biblioteca Nacional de Colombia
Biblioteca Nacional de Chile
Biblioteca Nacional de México
World Culture Encyclopedia - Countries and Their Cultures
Explores the cultures of countries and peoples around the world, including different cultures within America.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary articles that are mostly peer-reviewed.
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Clase and Periodica This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index of Latin American journals.
Clase and Periodica is an index of articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together, they offer access to citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journal articles written primarily in Spanish. Covers multiple subjects and academic areas.
Fuente Academica provides scholarly journal articles in Spanish covering many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology. This database provides full text from 260 scholarly Spanish language journals from respected publishers worldwide.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides articles on humanities topics, including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, and religion. Content also includes interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Humanities International Complete includes all the data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) and full text from more than 770 journals. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, books, and other humanities reference materials, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from political science journals from every region of the world. Covers areas of political science, political communications, international relations, international law, human rights, conflict studies, and ethnic studies.
International Political Science Abstracts includes current indexing and abstracts from over 1000 of the world's leading journals in political science.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains research on all aspects of literature and languages. Source types include articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literary criticism, literary theory, modern languages, linguistics, rhetoric, drama, film, folklore, radio, and television. It covers literature from all over the world.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access and citation index of social science research across a wide range of disciplines. One of the Web of Science databases.
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also covers individually selected, relevant items from leading natural and physical science journals. The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts (science and social sciences), and cited references. Researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geriatrics. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Language & linguistics. Law. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Rehabilitation. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Womens studies.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains research covering sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles, and indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.