Tests and measures are often utilized in research and assessment. They can be a wide range of instruments such as surveys, questionnaires, scales, and other forms. Although you may not be able to access a complete test or measure without purchase there are other methods of reviewing a measurement tool and deciphering its usefulness to your own research.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: a Sourcebook, 6th Ed. by
One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure a given problem. The seminal Measures for Clinical Practice and Research two-volume set contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools - alongside the authors' guidance on how to select andscore them - for use in clinical practice and in research. Focusing on measures for use with couples, families, and children, this first volume includes an introduction to the basic priniciples of measurement, an overview of different types of measures, and an overview of Rapid AssessmentInstruments. The text also contains descriptions and reviews of each instrument and information on how they were selected.This book is designed to serve as the definitive reference volume on assessment measures for both practice and research in clinical mental health, and Volume 1 is updated with a new preface, new instruments for measuring children's clinical conditions, several new measures for couples and families,and six new chapters. These classic Measures for Clinical Practice and Research compendiums are powerful tools that clinicians and researchers alike will find to be an invaluable addition to - or update of - their libraries.
Psychological Testing : Principles, Applications, and Issues by
PSYCHOLOGICAL TESTING: PRINCIPLES, APPLICATIONS, AND ISSUES, Ninth Edition explains the fundamentals of psychological testing, their important applications, and the controversies that emerge from those applications in clinical, education, industrial, and legal settings. Kaplan and Saccuzzo's engaging and thorough text demonstrates how psychological tests are constructed and used, both in a professional setting and in everyday lives. Part I focuses on the core concepts that affect the evaluation of all tests. Part II discusses the major types of psychological tests, while Part III looks at present-day issues affecting testing such as stereotype threat, bias, laws, and ethics. A multitude of test profiles and sample items illustrate how psychological testing is used and reported. Real-life case studies demonstrate the uses and misuses of psychological testing, while "Technical Example" boxes help you understand complex statistical concepts.
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by
This three-volume handbook is a comprehensive presentation of the theory and application of tests in psychology and education. It begins with an in-depth portrayal of psychometrics: the quantitative underpinning of testing. It then provides thorough, up-to-date and informative chapters related to five general application areas of testing: industrial/organisational psychology clinical psychology (including health psychology) counselling psychology school psychology educational testing In each of these five areas, this handbook is probably the most comprehensive review of the use of testing and assessment in the subfield.
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment by
′once you let a clinical psychologist lay hands on this book, it is quite difficult to get it back again′ - Martin Guha, Librarian, Institute of Psychiatry, London The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment is a landmark reference work and constitutes a definitive resource for academics, practitioners and students working in any field of applied psychological science. Psychological assessment is a key component of psychological work. Devices of scientific assessment are necessary for adequate describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behaviour of all subjects under examination. This double-volume collection offers complete coverage to facilitate action in each of these areas and will consequently be invaluable to psychologists in any applied setting. The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment contain a series of 235 entries, organized alphabetically, and covering a variety of fields. Each entry includes a general conceptual and methodological overview, a section on relevant assessment devices, followed by links to related concepts in the Encyclopedia and a list of references. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment provides: - A comprehensive network for psychological assessment as a conceptual and methodological discipline, and as a professional activity - An overview of the complexity of assessment, which involves not only testing, but also a process of decision-making for answering relevant questions that arise in the different applied fields - A presentation of relevant issues from basic theory (theoretical perspectives, ethics) and methodology (validity, reliability, item response theory) to technology and modes of assessment (tests, instruments and equipment for measuring behavioral operations) - An attempt to unify this diverse field by offering full coverage of all areas from the most traditional, such as clinical, educational and work and organizational psychology, to the most recent applications linked to health, gerontology, neuropsychology, psychophysiology and environmental assessment. The Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment offers a truly international perspective, both in terms of the selected authors and chosen entries. It aims to provide an integrated view of assessment, bringing together knowledge dispersed throughout several methodological and applied fields, but united in terms of its relevance for assessment. It is an essential purchase for any library with an existing collection or concern with the field of psychological science in general.
Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Volume 1 by
In one volume, the leading researchers in intelligence and neuropsychological assessment interpret the range of issues related to intellectual and neuropsychological tests, including test development and psychometrics, clinical applications, ethical and legal concerns, use with diverse populations, computerization, and the latest research. Clinicians and researchers who use these instruments will find this volume invaluable, as it contains the most comprehensive and up-to-date information available on this important aspect of practice.