Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Citations in Zotero

When sources are saved in your Zotero library, this information is then ready to be edited and cited quickly. 

Two Important Steps to take before you begin citing:

1.  Review all of the information that is gathered for each source in your library and make sure it is complete, so that no data is missing when your citation is created. The most common missing information is publisher, volume or issue, page numbers and DOI data.

2.  Set your citation style (APA, MLA, etc.):

  • In Zotero, click on the "Edit" tab at the top of left of the screen. Then select "Preferences" at the end of the list

  • Review the citation options listed within the Style Manager. Select one of the 13 most commonly used citation styles listed, or add a new citation style by clicking on the "Get Additional Styles..." link below the list.  There are over 9,000 styles to choose from. Add and select the style, edit and preview the style as desired, then press OK.
  • Choose a style and then press OK. 

 

Inserting Citations

When you are ready, there are several great ways to cite your sources and create a bibliography:

In order to use Zotero in Microsoft Word, you will need to:

1. Make sure Zotero is open and running on your computer.

2. Install the "Microsoft Word Add-in"

A. In Zotero, click the "Edit" tab at the top of the page and select "Preferences" at the bottom of the list.

B. In "Preferences" click on the "Word Processors" tab. Click the "Install Microsoft Word Add-in" button. 

undefined

 

3. Open up a new Microsoft Word document and a new tab will appear (Zotero) in your top menu. You will use this tab to add individual citations (in-text) or generate an entire bibliography as desired.

undefined

 

4. To add an in-text citation and accompanying bibliography, start by placing your cursor where you desire the citation to go in the text, then click on the Add/Edit Citation button. A citation generator will appear. Simply type in the name of an author or title that you wish to add and press enter.

undefined

 

5. A new in-text citation will appear next to your writing and a bibliography will be automatically generated on a new page at the end of the document.  As you continue to add in-text citations, Zotero will automatically add that citation to the bibliography in correct alpha-numerical order. As always, make sure to check your citations for completeness such that no errors are made or data is missing.

undefined

Zotero's powerful Google Docs support helps you easily add citations and bibliographies to the documents you create in Google Docs. 

In order to use Zotero in Google Docs, you will need to:

1. Make sure that Zotero Connector for Chrome has been installed

2. Once installed, a Zotero tab will automatically be generated in your Google Docs interface

 

 

3. A toolbar button  ("Add/Edit Zotero Citation") for one-click citing will also appear.  When you use it for the first time, you will need to authenticate your  account and allow the integration.
undefined

 

4. You can begin citing by clicking the  ("Add/Edit Zotero Citation") button in the Google Docs toolbar or by selecting "Add/Edit Citation" from the Zotero menu, both of which will bring up the citation dialog.

5. To Insert In-text Citation, simply type any key word (author name, title, etc.) to bring up the citation.  Once you find the citation click on it and press enter to.  A new In-text citation will appear which can be edited and changed as needed.

undefined

 

6. When you have finished writing and adding citations, you can easily Add a Bibliography to the Google Doc by clicking on the Zotero tab in the menu and select "Add/Edit Bibliography" and a formatted bibliography will appear at the end of your document.

undefined

undefined

 

 

Copying and pasting individual citations or an entire bibliography is nearly as easy the drag and drop method:

1. From Zotero, select one or more citations from your library that you want to include in your bibliography (CTRL + A to select all citations or hold CTRL+ Click to select only a few).

undefined

2. Then right click on the selected items (now highlighted) and then choose "Create Bibliography from Citations"

undefined

3. Choose the Citation Style that you want, then select the appropriate Output Mode as either in-text "Citations" or as a "Bibliography".  Finally, choose the Output Method as "Copy to Clipboard" and select OK.  Your citations are now ready to be pasted into any document you choose.

undefined

To Drag & Drop a bibliography citation into a document:

1. Find and select (with your cursor) where you would like your bibliography entry to go in your document.

2. Then open the Zotero desktop app, select the title that you want to cite. Hold click the title and drag it (hover over) to the word processor document until the document opens up and drop the title where you want it to go.

undefined