Skip to Main Content

BUS 2150: Statistics for Business

Data Clearing Houses

Data.gov
Data repository for all federal, state and major cities in the US by department, program and organization.
DataUSA
Provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge
re3data
Registry of research data repositories globally cataloging over 2,000 individual repositories of reference datasets
Harvard Dataverse
Covers over 100,000 datasets for topics ranging from social science and law to medicine and earth sciences
Google Public Data Explorer
Provides public data and forecasts from a range of international organizations and academic institutions
Kaggle
A subsidiary of Google LLC, Kaggle is the world's largest data science community with powerful tools and resources to help you achieve your data science goals
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
Dig Deep into Economic Data. Free Research Resources from the St. Louis Federal Reserve. YOY consumer price index. Half a million series. Over 80 data sources. Metro to global data.
USDA GATS Commodities Data Exchange Portal
GATS, the USDA Foreign Agricultural Service's Global Agricultural Trade System. GATS includes international agricultural commodities, fish, forest and textile products, and trade statistics dating from 1989 to present.

CU Databases

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A dynamic tool to search datasets from the United States. Compare and contrast variables of interest and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations, as well as Woods & Poole Economics, Inc.
Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Provides technical insight and corporate profiles including key data, news, reports, and industry statistics for small to large business both domestic and international.
The Hoover's database provides information on more than 12 million public and private companies, including companies that have gone out of business, in more than 600 worldwide industries. Information available includes in-depth industry analysis, summary financials, top competitors and officers, SEC filings, and news. Using the Hoovers information customized reports can be created.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Mergent Market Atlas offers a wealth of detail - the hallmark of all Mergent Products - on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. Mergent Market Atlas delivers the same comprehensive suite of financial information used by professionals under LSEG's Refinitiv and FTSE Russell brands.--from publisher website

Sports

Education

Health

Commerce/Economics

Politics

Natural Science

Religion

Workforce

Pop Culture

Census Data