Research Guides: LIT 2090: Literary Analysis (Calhoun): Resources for Bambi by Salten

Recommended Databases

Use these databases to research Salten's life and the historical, cultural, political, & ethnic context in which he lived:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Contains research on all aspects of literature and languages. Source types include articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literary criticism, literary theory, modern languages, linguistics, rhetoric, drama, film, folklore, radio, and television. It covers literature from all over the world.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR is an interdisciplinary archive of over one thousand leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. It is full-text searchable and includes images. There are embargos of between 3-5 years for most journal titles. Journals are always included from volume 1, issue 1.
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Contains articles and magazines with a multifaceted view of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present.
Jewish Studies Source contains over 400 full-text titles. Sources comprising the collection include full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. This database includes 123 full-text journals & magazines, including 66 that are unavailable from Academic Search . Jewish Studies Source also offers extensive full-text backfiles. In addition, Jewish Studies Source contains the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source This link opens in a new window
Contains scholarly articles published in central and eastern European countries. Multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage pertaining to all facets of this geographic region.
Central & Eastern European Academic Source (CEEAS) is a multidisciplinary, multilingual database providing full-text coverage pertaining to all facets of central and eastern European countries. The collection contains hundreds of full-text publications covering many academic areas including business and economics, medical sciences, political science, law, library and information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, and sociology relating to this geographic region.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding North America, which is covered in America: History and Life). Historical Abstracts indexes key historical journals from virtually every major country, plus a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities that are of special interest to researchers and students of history.

Historical Abstracts also cites new books reviewed in key English-language history and review journals. Dissertation citations relevant to the subject scope are derived from Dissertation Abstracts International.

Subject keywords: History. Multicultural Studies. Sociology. Psychology. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Religion. Anthropology. Political Science. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Biographical Sources on Salten

Felix Salten: Man of Many Faces by Beverley D. Eddy
Call #: RESERVE-SERVICE DESK
Publication Date: 2010
More copies available in OhioLINK
One of the only book-length biographies of Salten. This book firmly positions the multi-faceted Salten within his Vienna context. Whenever possible, Salten speaks for himself in describing events of his own life and aspects of the bustling city around him.
Major Figures of Turn-of-the-Century Austrian Literature by Donald G. Daviau (Editor)
Call #: OhioLINK
Publication Date: 1990
Includes a substantive chapter on Felix Salten's life and works. The Introduction chapter provides an overview of the cultural and political background of the age to furnish a broader context for the individual contributions
Writers for Children: Critical Studies of Major Authors Since the Seventeenth Century by Jane M. Bingman (Editor)
Call #: OhioLINK
Publication Date: 1987
Contains a short biographical essay on Felix Salten
Animal Land: The Creatures of Children's Fiction by Laura Simms
Call #: OhioLINK
Publication Date: 1975
Briefly references Salten and Bambi in Chapter 13: "If Only We Were They: The Humanised 'Nature' Story"