Skip to Main Content

BTOT-3310/6130 Latter Prophets - Isaiah Exegetical Paper

Semantics - word studies: usage & semantic field

Relevant Books

Look for your passage/verse in the Table of Contents at the front of the book or index at the end for the books below.

Analytical Key to the Old Testament, 4 vols. by John Joseph Owens
Call #: REF 221.44 O97A
Exegetical Gems from Biblical Hebrew: A Refreshing Guide to Grammar and Interpretation by H. H. Hardy II
Call #: MAIN 221.44 H269E
Expository Dictionary of Bible Words: Word Studies for Key English Bible Words Based on the Hebrew and Greek Texts by Stephen D. Renn
Call #: REF 220.3 E96
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament, 2 vols. by Ludwig Koehler & Walter Baumgartner (Walter Baumgartner & J. J. Stamm, eds.)
Call #: REF 221.44 K79H
Invitation to Biblical Interpretation: Exploring the Hermeneutical Triad of History, Literature, and Theology by Andreas J. Köstenberger
Call #: MAIN 220.601 K86I
Mounce's Complete Expository Dictionary of Old & New Testament Words by William D. Mounce
Call #: REF 220.3 M928
The New Brown-Driver-Briggs-Gesenius Hebrew-English Lexicon of the Old Testament by Francis Brown (S. R. Driver & Charles A. Briggs, eds.)
Call #: REF 492.4 B88N
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis, 5 vols. by Willem A. VanGemeren, ed.
Call #: REF 221.3 V253N
Old Testament Word Studies: An English Hebrew and Chaldee Lexicon and Concordance by William Wilson
Publication Date: REF & MAIN 221.1 W754O

CU OneSearch - Find Scholarly/Relevant Books

Go to OneSearch
Click CU Books (above search box)
Click ADVANCED SEARCH box (below search box)
In 1st search box, type bible isaiah into search box
Change drop-down menu from Any Field to Subject
In 2nd search box, type semantics
Click Submit

Old Testament Word Studies: An English Hebrew and Chaldee Lexicon and Concordance by William Wilson
Call #: REF & MAIN 221.1 W754O
Radical Frame Semantics and Biblical Hebrew by Stephen Shead
Call #: eBook (unlimite # of users)
A Reader's Hebrew-English Lexicon of the Old Testament, 3 vols. by Terry Armstrong, Douglas Busby, & Cyril Carr, eds.
Call #: REF 221.44 A738R
Reframing Biblical Studies: When Language and Text Meet Culture, Cognition, and Context by Ellen Van Wolde
Call #: MAIN 221.66 W852R (also ebook-unlimited # of users)
Semantic Dictionary of Biblical Hebrew by Reinier de Blois, ed.
Call #: Website
Septuagint Vocabulary: Pre-History, Usage, Reception by Jan Joosten & Eberhard Bons
Call #: eBook (unlimited # of users)
A Student's Vocabulary for Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic by Larry A. Mitchel
Call #: REF 492.4 M681S
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament 15 vols. by G. Johannes Botterweck, Helmer Ringgren, & H. J. Fabry, eds.
Call #: REF 221.3 B75T
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament, 3 vols. by Ernst Jenni & Claus Westermann, eds (Mark E. Biddle, Trans)
Call #: REF 492.4 J54T
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament, 2 vols. by R. Laird Harris, Gleason L. Archer, & Bruce K. Waltke
Call #: REF 221.44 H315T
Vocabulary Guide to Biblical Hebrew by Miles V. Van Pelt & Gary D. Pratico
Call #: REF 492.482421 V273V

Relevant Articles

Look for your passage/verse in the Table of Contents at the front of the book or index at the end for the books below.

Find Articles from Databases

CU Databases with Scholarly/Relevant Articles

Atla Religion Database - Find Scholarly/Relevant Articles

Go to Atla Religion Database
Click Scriptures (top left)
Click Expand then chapter (example: Chapter 10)
Click Expand then verse (example: Verse 6)
Type semantics into 2nd box
Click Search

CU OneSearch - Find Scholarly/Relevant Articles

Go to OneSearch
Type bible isaiah semantics into OneSearch box
Click Search
Change drop-down menu from Keyword to SU Subject Terms
Limit by Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals or Publication Date (left column)
Click Search

TEXT

Find Articles from Recommended Journals

Dr. Shepherd's Recommended Journals

Journal of Biblical Literature
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society
Journal for the Study of the Old Testament
Vetus Testamentum
Westminster Theological Journal
Zeitschrift für die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft

TEST

Atla Religion Database - Find Scholarly/Relevant Articles in Dr. Shepherd's Recommended Journals

Go to Atla Religion Database
Click Scriptures (top left)
Click Expand then chapter (example: Chapter 10
Click Expand then verse (example: Verse 6
In 2nd search box, type title of one of journals. Example: Westminster Theological Journal
From drop-down menu, select SO Source
In 3rd search box, type semantics
Click Search