Before jumping into finding scholarly journal articles and books, it's a good idea to do some background research (unless you're already very familiar with your topic!).
The Advanced World Book Web includes Primary source documents, E-books, Encyclopedia articles, Images, as well as links to articles and websites.
Timelines covering many subjects.
Hundreds of customizable, interactive timelines of important events throughout history are pre-built for researchers, or users can create timelines from scratch.
Provides information on every country in the world, including its history, culture, lifestyle, government and more.
Since its beginnings in 1974, the aim of CultureGrams has been to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content. Today the CultureGrams series is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas.
In 2004, the CultureGrams product line was acquired by ProQuest LLC, a global leader in collecting, organizing, and distributing value-added information to researchers, faculty, and students in over 160 countries.
Today, educators, librarians, and administrators in tens of thousands of institutions worldwide rely on ProQuest to
Provide comprehensive, easy-to-use educational resources to power learning and increase student achievement
Enhance curriculum with age-appropriate, high-quality digital content from primary and secondary sources spanning thousands of titles and multiple media types
Provide landmark articles and electronic resources that illuminate all aspects of the most vital issues of our time
Inspire students to reach their fullest potential in the core curricula of Language Arts, Social Sciences, the Sciences, and Mathematics; and secondary curricula including the Arts, Multicultural Studies, and Technology and Vocational Education
ProQuest products are designed to support the widespread, integrated, sustained, and effective (WISE) use of technology to help K-12 schools and public libraries develop educators' skills and improve student achievement at every grade level.
E-book collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and research companions published by Oxford University Press. Organized into subject areas including the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics.
With today’s overabundance of information, and misinformation, students and researchers alike can be overwhelmed in identifying what’s trustworthy, what’s up-to-date, and what’s accurate. Oxford University Press has invested in the Oxford Research Encyclopedias to meet this challenge. Working with international communities of scholars across all fields of study, we are developing new comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
Beginner-level encyclopedia written at basic Spanish reading levels. Correlates with WorldBook Kids encyclopedia.
This is where you can find print encyclopedias on a wide range of topics, including literature, history, and prominent figures in Spain and Latin America. Consider taking a look at the following Dewey Decimal Ranges: