Research Guides: Databases: M

M

MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
In-depth research of the burgeoning over-the-counter diagnotic testing market; hard data: size of the market, names of the major players, growth forecasts, regulatory issues, and who has the biggest market share
MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
MasterFILE Premier (popular magazines) provides full text for more than 1,700 general reference, business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural periodicals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 2,400 periodicals. The database also contains full text for reference and travel books; biographies; primary source documents; and an image college of over 235,000 photos, maps, and flags.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Index and summaries of articles and books on mathematical research.
MathSciNet provides access to over 60 years of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (from 1940 to the present).

Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. MR covers articles and books in applied areas that contain new mathematical results or give novel and interesting applications of known mathematics. The full text of all reviews from 1940 to the present is available on MathSciNet. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included.

Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications.

Approximately 1700 current serials and journals are reviewed in whole or in part.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Medical research and investigative journal articles in Spanish.
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This database provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts of journal articles in the health sciences.
MEDLINE® with Full Text, the National Library of Medicine database, contains more than 17 million references to journal articles in the health sciences. The database provides more than 1,370 journals in fulltext, some dating back to 1949. MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature including nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks from Volume 9 to the present. For each test, the database provides the name of the test author, publication information, scoring information, and the number of the Mental Measurements Yearbook in which the test was described originally. The full text for each record includes an overview of the test, a description of the test materials and time needed, and one or more reviews of the test.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Business and financial information for investment research.
Mergent Online provides business information, including financial reports, company news and securities data. Mergent Online contains company data and annual reports for both U.S. and international companies. U.S. company data includes SEC (EDGAR) filings.

Mergent Online is the successor to FISonline, which was created when Mergent acquired the Financial Information Services division of Moody's® Investors Service.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
List of periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
MLA Directory of Periodicals lists over 4400 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. The directory provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography provides a classified listing and subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Annually, it indexes more than 45,000 books and articles from more that 4,400 periodicals and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes works about literature that is transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language, including both natural languages and invented languages (e.g., Esperanto). Inclusions must be of scholarly interest; no apprentice or simplified works are included.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
The Music Index is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. Contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
Online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages. Some backfile data from the period 1962-1975 is also included.

Topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music are thoroughly categorized and organized according to the framework of an internal Subject List, which includes both Subject and Geographic headings. Covering all styles and genres of music, The Music Index cites book reviews, obituaries, news periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry. The thoroughness of indexing and subject heading research, along with comprehensive coverage of the music field, makes The Music Index an invaluable resource for both the novice scholar and the experienced academician.