Research Guides: Databases: S

S

Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields.
Safari Tech Books Online Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields from O'Reilly and Associates and Pearson Technology Associates.
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the sciences.
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI) provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from more than 5700 of the world's leading professional scientific research journals. The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts (science and social sciences), and cited references. Researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Veterinary sciences. Zoology.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. It also covers individually selected, relevant items from leading natural and physical science journals. The ISI Citation Databases collectively index more than 8,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals cover-to-cover, providing complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts (science and social sciences), and cited references. Researchers can search the citation data (the footnotes of each article), taking a known, relevant paper and finding other, more recent papers that cite it.

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geriatrics. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Language & linguistics. Law. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Rehabilitation. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Womens studies.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 35,000 records from social work and other related journals
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology.
SocINDEX is a comprehensive, high quality sociology research database. This index features citations with subject headings from a sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX contains informative abstracts for more than 815 'core' coverage journals dating back to 1895, of which 397 are full text, dating back to 1908. SocINDEX provides data mined from more than 630 'priority' coverage journals, with full text for 150 of them, as well as information from 2,840 'selective' coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX also includes full text for over 700 books and monographs and for almost 6,750 conference paper. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

SocINDEX includes over 10,000 author profiles. These profiles include biographical and bibliographical information for the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently search authors. Profiles are continually updated and added.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text covering sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles, and indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
SPORT Discus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines.
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 350 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses. SPORTDiscus contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo - and its full-text coverage dates back to 1985.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
Springer Protocols is a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker.
Springer Protocols is a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed life sciences protocols, based on the research protocols and methodologies in the critically acclaimed Methods in Molecular Biology series by Dr. John M. Walker. Other book series included in the protocols are: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Methods in Biotechnology, More than 22,000 protocols are available with an additional 2000 added each year. Subjects included: Biochemistry, Biotechnology, Cell Biology, Imaging/Radiology, Infectious Diseases, Molecular Medicine, Pharmacology/Toxicology, Protein Science, Bioinformatics, Cancer Research, Genetics/Genomics, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, and Plant Sciences