Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: SBL

eBook (SBL Handbook 6.2.25) - (print edition preferred)
 
Book on e-Reader
 
Footnotes
4. Henning Graf Reventlow, From the Old Testament to Origen. Vol. 1 of History of Biblical Interpretation,
trans. Leo G. Perdue (Atlanta: Society of Biblical Literature, 2009), Nook edition, ch. 1.3.
18. Reventlow, From the Old Testament to Origen, ch. 1.3.
 
Bibliography
Reventlow, Henning Graf. From the Old Testament to Origen. Volume 1 of History of Biblical Interpretation.
          Translated by Leo G. Perdue. Atlanta: Society of Biblical Literature, 2009. Nook edition.
 
Footnotes
3. Jacob L. Wright, David, King of Israel, and Caleb in Biblical Memory (Cambridge: Cambridge University
Press, 2014), Kindle edition, ch. 3, “Introducing David.”
21. Wright, David, King of Israel, ch. 5, “Evidence from Qumran.”
 
Bibliography
Jacob L. Wright, David, King of Israel, and Caleb in Biblical Memory. Cambridge: Cambridge University
          Press, 2014. Kindle edition.
 
Book from Internet
 
Footnotes
53. Ann E. Killebrew and Margreet Steiner, eds., The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of the Levant:
c. 8000–332 BCE (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014), doi:10.1093/ oxfordhb/9780199212972.001.0001.
55. Killebrew and Steiner, Archaeology of the Levant.
 
Bibliography
Killebrew, Ann E. and Margreet Steiner, eds. The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of the Levant: c.
          8000–332 BCE. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014. doi:10.1093/oxfordhb/
          9780199212972.001.0001.
 
Footnotes
29. Stephen Kaufman. The Akkadian Influences on Aramaic, AS 19 (Chicago: The Oriental Institute of the
University of Chicago, 1974), http://oi.uchicago.edu/ pdf/as19.pdf.
32. Kaufman, Akkadian Influences on Aramaic, 123.
 
Bibliography
Kaufman, Stephen. The Akkadian Influences on Aramaic. AS 19. Chicago: The Oriental Institute of the
          University of Chicago, 1974. http://oi.uchicago.edu/pdf/as19.pdf.
 
Book on CD-ROM
 
Cited as a print book without medium type in citation.

Internet Document (SBL Handbook 6.4.15)
 
Website
 
Footnotes
10. “The One Hundred Most Important Cuneiform Objects,” cdli:wiki, http://cdli .ox.ac.uk/wiki/
doku.php?id=the_one_hundred_most_important_cuneiform_objects.
 
“The One Hundred Most Important Cuneiform Objects.” cdli:wiki. http:// cdli.ox.ac.uk/wiki/doku.php?id=
          the_one_hundred_most_important_cuneiform_objects.
 
Tip: Include descriptive phrase or title, author if known, owner or sponsor of site, and URL.
 
Blog
 
Footnotes
3. Mark Goodacre, “Jesus’ Wife Fragment: Another Round-Up,” NT Blog, 9 May 2014,
http://ntweblog.blogspot.com.
 
Tips
1. Include author; name of entry (in quotation marks), title or description of blog, date, and URL.
2. Omit from bibliography.
Electronic Journals Articles (SBL Handbook 6.3.10)
URL
 
Footnotes
8. Charles Truehart, “Welcome to the Next Church ,” Atlantic Monthly 278 (August 1996): 37–58, http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/96aug/nxtchrch/nxtchrch.htm.
12. Truehart, “Next Church,” 37.
 
Bibliography
Truehart, Charles. “Welcome to the Next Church.” Atlantic Monthly 278 (August 1996): 37–58.
          http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/96aug/nxtchrch/ nxtchrch.htm.
 
DOI
 
Footnotes
43. Carl P. E. Springer, “Of Roosters and Repetitio: Ambrose’s Aeterne rerum conditor,” VC 68 (2014):
155–77, doi:10.1163/15700720-12341158.
45. Springer, “Of Roosters and Repetitio,” 158.
 
Bibliography
Springer, Carl P. E. “Of Roosters and Repetitio: Ambrose’s Aeterne rerum conditor .” VC 68 (2014): 155–77.
          doi:10.1163/15700720-12341158.