Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: SBL

Bible (SBL Handbook 8.2)

The passage in 1 Cor 5 is often considered crucial.

The passage, 1 Cor 5:6, is often considered crucial.

First Corinthians 5:6 is a crucial text. “Do you not know that a little yeast leavens the whole batch of
dough?” (1 Cor 5:6 NRSV ).
The pa ssage in 1 Cor 5 is often considered crucial. The pa ssage, 1 Cor 5:6, is often considered crucial. Fi rst Corinthians 5:6 is a crucial text. “D o you not know that a little yeast leavens the whole batch of dough?” (1 Cor 5:6 NRSV ).

APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Kutsko, J. F., Buller, B., Collins, B. J., & Society of Biblical, L. (2014). The SBL Handbook of Style. Atlanta, Georgia: SBL Press.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Kutsko, John F., et al. The SBL Handbook Of Style. Atlanta, Georgia: SBL Press, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 10 Jan. 2017.
Bible Commentary (SBL Handbook 6.4.9)
 
Footnotes
9. Gary M. Burge and Andrew E. Hill, eds. The Baker Illustrated Bible Commentary (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker
Books, 2012), 1233.
12. Burge and Andrew, Baker Illustrated Bible Commentary, 1234.
 
Bibliography
Burge, Gary M, and Andrew E. Hill, eds. The Baker Illustrated Bible Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI:
          Baker Books, 2012.

Loeb Classical Library (SBL Handbook 6.4.2)

Footnotes
1. Josephus, Ant. 2.233-235 (Trackeray, LCL).
4. Josephus, Ant. 2.238 (Trackeray, LCL).
 
Bibliography
Josephus. Translated by H. St. J. Thackeray et al. 10 vols. Loeb Classical Library. Cambridge: Harvard
          University Press, 1926-1965.

 

Hebrew & Greek Transliterations

Hebrew Alphabet with Transliteration   Greek Alphabet with Transliteration
א י   Α α a
ב b, v   Β β b
ג g, gh   Γ γ g, n
ד d, dh   Δ δ d
ה h   Ε ε e
ו v, w   Ζ ζ z
ז z   Η η e
ח kh, h   Θ θ th
ט t   Ι ι i
י y   Κ κ k
  כ ך k, kh   Λ λ l
ל l   Μ μ m
מ ם m   Ν ν n
נ ן n   Ξ ξ x
ס s   Ο ο o
ע `


APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Kutsko, J. F., Buller, B., Collins, B. J., & Society of Biblical, L. (2014). The SBL Handbook of Style. Atlanta, Georgia: SBL Press.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Kutsko, John F., et al. The SBL Handbook Of Style. Atlanta, Georgia: SBL Press, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 6 Oct. 2016.


APA (American Psychological Assoc.)
Kutsko, J. F., Buller, B., Collins, B. J., & Society of Biblical, L. (2014). The SBL Handbook of Style. Atlanta, Georgia: SBL Press.

MLA (Modern Language Assoc.)
Kutsko, John F., et al. The SBL Handbook Of Style. Atlanta, Georgia: SBL Press, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 6 Oct. 2016.
  Π π p
פ ף p, ph, f   Ρ ρ r
צ ץ ts   Σ σ s s
ק q   Τ τ t
ר r   Υ υ u, y
שׂ s   Φ φ ph
שׁ sh   Χ χ ch
ת t, th   Ψ ψ ps
      Ω ω o