Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: SBL

Author or Editor (SBL Handbook 6.2.1-3; 6.2.6-8)
 

1 Author or Editor
 
Footnotes
15. Norman Cummings Nevin, Should Christians Embrace Evolution?: Biblical and Scientific Responses
(Phillipsburg, NJ: P&R Pub, 2011), 180.
19. Nevin, Embrace Evolution, 196.
 
Bibliography
Nevin, Norman Cummings. Should Christians Embrace Evolution?: Biblical and Scientific Responses.
          Phillipsburg, NJ: P&R Pub, 2011.
 
Footnotes
5. Jeffrey H. Tigay, ed., Empirical Models for Biblical Criticism (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania
Press, 1985), 35.
9. Tigay, Empirical Models, 38.
 
Bibliography
Tigay, Jeffrey H., ed. Empirical Models for Biblical Criticism. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press,
          1985.

2 or 3 authors or editors

Footnotes
4. James M. Robinson and Helmut Koester, Trajectories through Early Christianity (Philadelphia: Fortress,
1971), 237.
12. Robinson and Koester, Trajectories through Early Christianity, 23.
 
Bibliography
Robinson, James M., and Helmut Koester. Trajectories through Early Christianity. Philadelphia: Fortress,
          1971.
 
Footnotes
6. James K. Beilby and Paul R. Eddy, eds. Justification: Five Views. (Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic,
2011), 112-115.
9. Beilby and Eddy, Justification, 125.
 
Bibliography
Beilby, James K., and Paul R. Eddy, ed. Justification: Five Views. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2011.
 
More than 3 authors or editors
 
Footnotes
1. Bernard Brandon Scott et al., Reading New Testament Greek (Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1993),
53.
4. Scott et al., Reading New Testament Greek, 42.
 
Bibliography
Scott, Bernard Brandon, Margaret Dean, Kristen Sparks, and Frances LaZar. Reading New Testament
          Greek. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 1993.
 
Footnotes
4. John F. Oates et al., eds., Checklist of Editions of Greek and Latin Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets, 5th ed.,
BASPSup9 (Oakville, CT: American Society of Papyrologists, 2001), 10.
8. Oates et al., Checklist, 9.
 
Bibliography
Oates, John F., William H. Willis, Roger S. Bagnall, and Klaas A. Worp, eds. Checklist of Editions  of Greek
          and Latin Papyri, Ostraca, and Tablets. 5th ed. BASPSup 9. Oakville, CT: American Society of
          Papyrologists, 2001.

Author & Editor (SBL Handbook 6.2.4, 6.2.9-10)

Footnotes
45. Steven J. Lawson, Psalms 76-150, ed. Max Anders (Nashville, TN: Holman Reference, 2006), 254.
49. Lawson, Psalms 76-150, 269.
 
Bibliography
Lawson, Steven J. Psalms 76-150. Edited by Max Anders. Nashville, TN: Holman Reference, 2006.

Author & Translator (SBL Handbook 6.2.4, 6.2.9-10)

Footnotes
14. Albert Gelin, The Key Concepts of the Old Testament, trans. Gelin Lamb (New York, Deus Books, 1955),
82.
18. Gelin, Key Concepts, 90.

Bibliography
Gelin, Albert. The Key Concepts of the Old Testament. Translated by George Lamb. New York, Deus Books,
          1955.

Author, Editor, & Translator (SBL Handbook 6.2.4, 6.2.9-10)

Footnotes
3. Friedrich Blass and Albert Debrunner. Grammatica del Greco del Nuovo Testamento, ed. Friedrich Rehkopf,
trans. Giordana Pis (Brescia: Paideia, 1982), 40.
7. Blass and Debrunner, Grammatica, 51.
 
Bibliography
Blass, Friedrich and Albert Debrunner. Grammatica del Greco del Nuovo Testamento. Edited by Friedrich
          Rehkopf. Translated by Giordana Pisi. Brescia: Paideia, 1982.