Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: SBL

Book with One Author (SBL Handbook 6.2.1)
 
Footnotes
15. Norman Cummings Nevin, Should Christians Embrace Evolution?: Biblical and Scientific Responses
(Phillipsburg, NJ: P&R Pub, 2011), 180.
19. Nevin, Embrace Evolution, 196.
 
Bibliography
Nevin, Norman Cummings. Should Christians Embrace Evolution?: Biblical and Scientific Responses. Phillipsburg,
          NJ: P&R Pub, 2011.
Revised Edition of a Book (SBL Handbook 6.2.16)
 
Footnotes
87. Charles Kingsley Barrett, ed., The Epistle to the Romans, rev. ed. (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic,
2011), 3.
99. Barrett, Romans, 10.
 
Bibliography
Barrett, Charles Kingsley. The Epistle  to the Romans. Rev. ed. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2011.

Book with Multiple Publishers (SBL Handbook 6.2.15)

Footnotes
8. Birger Gerhardsson, Memory and Manuscript: Oral Tradition and Written Transmission in Rabbinic Judaism
and Early Christianity. (ASNU 22. Lund: Gleerup; Copenhagen: Munksgaard, 1961), 355-356.
10. Gerhardsson, Memory and Manuscript, 407.
 
Bibliography
Gerhardsson, Birger. Memory and Manuscript: Oral Tradition and  Written Transmission in Rabbinic Judaism
          and Early Christianity. ASNU 22. Lund: Gleerup; Copenhagen: Munksgaard, 1961.
Dictionary, Lexicon, & Encyclopedia (SBL Handbook 6.3.6-7)
 
Dictionary
 
Footnotes
3. Carole R. Fontaine, "Path," The New Interpreters' Dictionary of the Bible 4:395.
20. Fontaine, "Path," 4:396.
 
Bibliography
Sakenfeld, Katharine Doob, ed. The New Interpreters' Dictionary of the Bible. 5 vols. Nashville: Abingdon Press,
          2009.
 
Lexicon
 
Footnotes
23. K. Dahn, "orao," NIDNTT 3:511-18.
29. Dahn, NIDNTT 3:511.
 
Bibliography
Brown, Colin, ed. New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. 4 vols. Grand Rapids: Zondervan,
          1975-1985.
 
Encyclopedia
 
Footnotes
10. Centrone, Bruno, "Pythagoras," ER 11:7528-29.
14. Centrone, "Pythagoras," 11:7530-31.
 
Bibliography
Jones, Lindsay, ed. Encyclopedia of Religion. 2d ed.; Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2005.
Thesis or Dissertation - Unpublished (SBL Handbook 6.3.5)
 
Footnotes
21. Everett Gladstone Beckman, "The Changing Conceptions of the Role of Religion with Reference to Social
Justice as Reflected in the Congressional Record, 1930-1960" (Ph.D. diss., University of Pittsburgh, 1965), 301.
25. Beckman, "Role of Religion," 302.
 
Bibliography
Beckman, Everett Gladstone. "The Changing Conceptions of the Role of Religion with Reference to Social
          Justice As Reflected in the Congressional Record, 1930-1960." Ph.D. diss., University of Pittsburgh, 1965.
Chapter in Book (SBL Handbook 6.2.12, 6.2.22-23)
 
Chapter in Edited Book
 
Footnotes
3. Beverly J. Stratton, "Ideology," in Handbook of Postmodern Biblical Interpretation, ed. A. K. M. Adam (St.
Louis, MO: Chalice Press, 2000), 121.
6. Stratton, "Ideology," 125.
 
Bibliography
Stratton, Beverly J. "Ideology." Pages 120-127 in Handbook of Postmodern Biblical Interpretation. Edited by
          A. K. M. Adam. St. Louis MO: Chalice Press, 2000.
 
Chapter in Multivolume Book Set
 
Footnotes
24. Steve Mason, “Josephus on Canon and Scriptures,” in Hebrew Bible/ Old Testament: The History of Its
Interpretation, ed. Magne Saebø (Göttingen: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, 1996), 1.1:217–335.
28. Mason, “Josephus on Canon and Scriptures,” 224.
 
Bibliography
Mason, Steve. “Josephus on Canon and Scriptures.” Pages 217–35 in vol. 1, part 1 of Hebrew Bible/Old
          Testament: The  Edited by Magne Saebø. Göttingen: Vandenhoeck & Ruprecht, 1996.
 
Chapter in Titled Volume in Multivolume Set
 
Footnotes
66. David Peterson, “The Motif of Fulfilment and the Purpose of Luke-Acts,” in The Book of Acts in Its Ancient
Literary Setting, ed. Bruce W. Winter and Andrew D. Clarke, vol. 1 of The Book of Acts in Its First Century Setting,
ed. Bruce W. Winter (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993), 83–104.
78. Peterson, “Motif of Fulfilment,” 92.
 
Bibliography
David Peterson, “The Motif of Fulfilment and the Purpose of Luke-Acts.” Pages 83–104 in The Book of Acts in
          Its Ancient Literary Setting. Edited by Bruce W. Winter and Andrew D. Clarke. Vol. 1 of The Book of Acts
          in Its First Century Setting. Edited by Bruce W. Winter. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993.

Article in a Book (SBL Handbook 6.3.3, 6.3.6)

Article in Encyclopedia, Dictionary, or Lexicon

Footnotes
33. Krister Stendahl, “Biblical Theology, Contemporary,” IDB 1:418–32. 3
6. Stendahl, “Biblical Theology,” 1:419.
 
Bibliography
Stendahl, Krister. “Biblical Theology, Contemporary.” IDB 1:418–32.
 
Journal Article Republished in a Book
 
Option 1
 
Footnotes
20. David Noel Freedman, "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry," JBL 96 (1977): 20.
31. Freedman, "Pottery," 21.
 
Bibliography
Freedman, David Noel. "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry." Journal of Biblical
          Literature 96 (1977): 5-26.
 
Option 2
 
Footnotes
20. David Noel Freedman, "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry," in Pottery, Poetry,
and Prophecy: Studies in Early Hebrew Poetry (Winona Lake, IN: Eisenbrauns, 1980), 20.
31. Freedman, "Pottery," 21.
 
Bibliography
Freedman, David Noel. "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry." Pages 1-22 in Pottery,
          Poetry, and Prophecy: Studies in Early Hebrew Poetry. Winona Lake, IN: Eisenbrauns, 1980.
Multivolume Books (SBL Handbook 6.2.20-23)
 
Titled Volume in Multivolume Book Set
 
Footnotes
5. Bruce W. Winter and Andrew D. Clarke, eds., The Book of Acts in Its Ancient Literary Setting, vol. 1 of
The Book of Acts in Its First Century Setting, ed. Bruce W. Winter (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993), 25.
16. Winter and Clarke, Book of Acts, 25.
 
Bibliography
Winter, Bruce W. , and Andrew D. Clarke, eds. The Book of Acts in Its Ancient Literary Setting. Vo l . 1 of
          The Book of Acts in Its First Century Setting. Edited by Bruce W. Winter. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans,
          1993.
 
Multivolume Book Set with One Title
 
Footnotes
5. Kurian, George Thomas, The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature, (Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press,
2010), 1:131.
9. Kurian, The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature, 1:133.
 
Bibliography
George Thomas Kurian, ed., The Encyclopedia of Christian Literature. 2 vols. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press,
          2010.
 
Multivolume Book Set with Title for Each Vol.
 
Footnotes
5. Bruce W. Winter and Andrew D. Clark, eds., The Book of Acts in Its Ancient Literacy Setting, vol. 1 of T
he Book of Acts in Its First Century Setting, ed. B. W. Winter (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993), 25.
16. Winter and Clarke, eds., Acts, 25.
 
Bibliography
Winter,  Bruce W. and Andrew D. Clark, eds. The Book of Acts in Its Ancient Literacy Setting. Vol. 1 of
          The Book of Acts in Its First Century Setting. Edited by Bruce W.  Winter. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans,
          1993.
 
Chapter in Multivolume Book Set with One Title
 
Footnotes
1. Richard Bauckham, "The Acts of Paul As a Sequel to Acts," in The Book of Acts in Its Ancient Literary
Setting, ed. Bruce W. Winter and Andrew D. Clarke, vol. 1 of The Book of Acts in Its First Century Setting,
ed. Bruce W. Winter (Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993), 105-52.
4. Bauckham, "Sequel to Acts," 107.
 
Bibliography
Bauckham, Richard. "The Acts of Paul As a Sequel to Acts." Pages in 105-52 of The Book of in Acts in Its
          Ancient Literary Setting.Edited by Bruce W. Winter and Andrew D. Clarke. Vol. 1 of The Book of Acts
          in Its First Century Setting. Edited by Bruce W. Winter.Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993.
Book Review (SBL Handbook 6.3.4)
 
Book Review without a Title
 
Footnotes
8. Jan A. Wagenaar, review of Micah, by Ehud Ben Zvi, Journal of Biblical Literature 120, no. 4 (Winter 2001):
751-52.
21. Wagenaar, review of Micah (by Zvi), 753.
 
Bibliography
Wagenaar, Jan A. Review of Micah, by Ehud Ben Zvi. Journal of Biblical  Literature 120, no. 4 (Winter 2001):
           751-53.
 
Book Review with a Title
 
Footnotes
9. Jason Radine, "Obadiah, Jonah. Micah: A Theological Commentary," review of Obadiah, Jonah, Micah:
A Theological Commentary. Philip Peter Jenson. Catholic Biblical Quarterly, 71, no. 4, October 2009, 864.
11. Radine, review of Obadiah, Jonah, Micah (by Radine), 865.
 
Bibliography
BibliographyRadine, Jason. "Obadiah, Jonah. Micah: A Theological Commentary," review of Obadiah, Jonah,
          Micah: A   Theological Commentary. Philip Peter Jenson. Catholic Biblical Quarterly 71, no. 4, October
          2009, 864-866.
 
Book Review of Many Books or Articles
 
Footnotes
16. Sarah Hinlicky Wilson, "Solus Christianus, Nullus Christianus: On Michael Holiness" (review of three
books by Plekon), Books & Culture: A Christian Review 18, no. 6, (November/December 2012): 9.
19. Wilson, "Solus Christianus," 10.
 
Bibliography
Wilson, Sarah Hinlicky. "Solus Christianus, Nullus Christianus: On Holiness" (review of three books by
          Michael Plekon), Books & Culture: A Christian Review 18, no. 6, (November/December 2012): 9-10.