Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Guide: SBL

Journal Article (SBL Handbook 6.3.1-2, 6.3.10)
 
Print
 
Footnotes
21. Hans Wildberger, “Das Abbild Gottes: Gen 1:26–30,” TZ 21 (1965): 245– 59, 481–501.
24. Wildberger, “Das Abbild Gottes," 499.
 
Bibliography
Wildberger, Hans. “Das Abbild Gottes: Gen 1:26–30.” TZ 21 (1965): 245–59, 481–501.
 
Electronic
 
URL
 
Footnotes
8. Charles Truehart, “Welcome to the Next Church ,” Atlantic Monthly 278 (August 1996): 37–58,
http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/96aug/nxtchrch/nxtchrch.htm.
12. Truehart, “Next Church,” 37.
 
Bibliography
Truehart, Charles. “Welcome to the Next Church.” Atlantic Monthly 278 (August 1996): 37–58.
          http://www.theatlantic.com/past/docs/issues/96aug/nxtchrch/ nxtchrch.htm.
 
DOI (preferred) What is DOI?
 
Footnotes
43. Carl P. E. Springer, “Of Roosters and Repetitio: Ambrose’s Aeterne rerum conditor,” VC 68 (2014): 155–77,
doi:10.1163/15700720-12341158.
45. Springer, “Of Roosters and Repetitio,” 158.
 
Bibliography
Springer, Carl P. E. “Of Roosters and Repetitio: Ambrose’s Aeterne rerum conditor.” VC 68 (2014): 155–77.           
          doi:10.1163/15700720-12341158.

Magazine Article (SBL Handbook 6.3.9)

Footnotes
8. Anthony J. Saldarini, "Babatha's Story," BAR 24.2 (1998): 28-33.
10. Saldarini, "Barbatha's Story," 72-4.
 
Bibliography
Saldarini, Anthony J. "Babatha's Story," BA Review 24.2 (1998): 28-33, 36-37, 72-74.

Article in a Book (SBL Handbook 6.3.3, 6.3.6)

Article in Encyclopedia, Dictionary, or Lexicon

Footnotes
33. Krister Stendahl, “Biblical Theology, Contemporary,” IDB 1:418–32. 3
6. Stendahl, “Biblical Theology,” 1:419.
 
Bibliography
Stendahl, Krister. “Biblical Theology, Contemporary.” IDB 1:418–32.
 
Journal Article Republished in a Book
 
Option 1
 
Footnotes
20. David Noel Freedman, "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry," JBL 96 (1977): 20.
31. Freedman, "Pottery," 21.
 
Bibliography
Freedman, David Noel. "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry." Journal of Biblical Literature
          96 (1977): 5-26.
 
Option 2
 
Footnotes
20. David Noel Freedman, "Pottery, Poetry, and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry," in Pottery, Poetry,
and Prophecy: Studies in Early Hebrew Poetry (Winona Lake, IN: Eisenbrauns, 1980), 20.
31. Freedman, "Pottery," 21.
 
Bibliography
Freedman, David Noel. "Pottery, Poetry,and Prophecy: An Essay on Biblical Poetry." Pages 1-22 in Pottery,
          Poetry, and Prophecy: Studies in Early Hebrew Poetry. Winona Lake, IN: Eisenbrauns, 1980.
Review Article (SBL Handbook 6.3.4)
 
Footnotes
7. David Petersen, “Hebrew Bible Textbooks: A Review Article,” CRBR 1 (1988): 1–18.
14. Petersen, “Hebrew Bible Textbooks,” 8.
 
Bibliography
Petersen, David. “Hebrew Bible Textbooks: A Review Article.” CRBR 1 (1988): 1–18.

Paper Presented at a Professional Society Meeting (SBL Handbook 6.3.8)

Footnotes

23. Susan Niditch, "Oral Culture and Written Documents" (paper presented at the annual meeting of the New
England Region of the SBL, Worcester, Mass., 25 March 1994), 13-17.
26. Niditch, "Oral Culture," 19.
 
Bibliography
Niditch, Susan. "Oral Culture and Written Documents." Paper presented at the annual meeting of the New England
          Region of the SBL, Worcester, MA, 25 March 1994.