This guide contains the list of books for your book report assignment. The link to the catalog and call numbers are included. To view a description of the book, click on the "information" icon. If your desired book is not available, check OhioLINK to see if you can borrow the book from another institution. Instructions on how to use OhioLINK can be found here. Please contact the Health Sciences Librarian with any questions.
The Westside Barbell Book of Methods by
Over the many years Louie Simmons was involved in powerlifting, he gained vast knowledge on generating strength through squatting, benching, and deadlifting. His expertise and experience culminated in the "Westside Barbell Book of Methods," an essential resource for anyone interested in strength training. This comprehensive guide, proven through Simmons' work with national and world champions in various sports, remains an invaluable tool for beginners and advanced athletes. Louie's methods have been employed by world record holder 400m dash runner Harry "Butch" Reynolds and have produced impressive results such as ninety-nine members who have benched 600 lbs or more, 106 members who have squatted 800 lbs or more, three members who have deadlifted 900 lbs or more, and twenty-eight members who have deadlifted over 800 lbs. Remarkably, these numbers are results from members of a small, private club. The Westside Barbell system, adaptable to individual needs and goals, offers insights into exercise selection, periodization, nutrition, and injury prevention. Training methods covered in the book include conjugate, percent, dynamic, maximum effort methods, lifting techniques, raising work capacity, rehabilitation and restoration, and reactive and contrast methods. Written in accessible language and grounded in scientifically-backed principles, the "Westside Barbell Book of Methods" inspires and educates readers, enabling them to coach themselves. Simmons also served as a strength consultant for the Cleveland Browns, Green Bay Packers, New England Patriots, Seattle Seahawks, and numerous college football teams, along with many athletes worldwide. Based on Louie's articles, this book offers a complete Westside package, leaving no stone unturned. It is a perfect tool for lifters and coaches, providing comprehensive guidance on improving strength, power, and overall performance in the gym or on the field. Embrace the legacy of the late Louie Simmons and discover the proven methods behind Westside Barbell's success with the "Westside Barbell Book of Methods.
Intervention: Course Corrections for the Athlete & Trainer by
You have two choices Be lucky enough in middle school, junior high or high school to be taught basic body movements and step-by-step instructions in the Olympic lifts, powerlifting, mobility, flexibility, kettlebell training & tumbling Apply Intervention
Practical Programming for Strength Training by
There is a difference between Exercise and Training. Exercise is physical activity for its own sake, a workout done for the effect it produces today, during the workout or right after you're through. Training is physical activity done with a longer-term goal in mind, the constituent workouts of which are specifically designed to produce that goal. Training is how athletes prepare to win, and how all motivated people approach physical preparation.
Practical Programming for Strength Training 3rd Edition addresses the topic of Training. It details the mechanics of the process, from the basic physiology of adaptation to the specific programs that apply these principles to novice, intermediate, and advanced lifters.
--Each chapter completely updated
--New illustrations and graphics
--Better explanations of the proven programs that have been helping hundreds of thousands of lifters get stronger more efficiently
--Expanded Novice chapter with the details of 3 different approaches to the problem of getting stuck and special approaches for the underweight and overweight trainee
--Expanded Intermediate chapter with 18 separate programs and 11 detailed examples
--Expanded Advanced chapter with detailed examples of 9 different programs
--Expanded Special Populations chapter with example programs for women and masters lifters training through their 50s, 60s, 70s, and 80s
--Day-to-day, workout-to-workout, week-by-week detailed programs for every level of training advancement
--The most comprehensive book on the theory and practice of programming for strength training in print.
The Poliquin Principles: Successful Methods for Strength & Mass Development by
This book contains two major sections: Section I defines the basic principles of resistance training, and Section II shows how to apply these principles to training major body parts. The sets and reps chapter for this edition was divided into two separate chapters, and likewise the nutrition chapter was divided into two chapters, one on nutrition and one on supplements. We know more today than ever. It’s been estimated that the amount of information doubles every 18 months, and we’ve had to adjust our theories within that same time frame. That’s why we decided it was time for this new edition of the Poliquin Principles.
Scientific Principles of Strength Training by
A comprehensive guide of the various training principles, what they mean, how they interact with each other, and how you can use them to design your own programming for strength sports. Authored by an expert team of PhD professors, researchers, and high level competitive athletes. Your ultimate guide to learning how to more effectively and efficiently create training programs to ensure you are getting the most out of your own training and creating programs for others.
Special Strength Development for All Sports by
After 4 years of compiling data, gathering information, writing and editing Louie Simmons has finally released Special Strength Development For All Sports. Between the covers you will have access to the most comprehensive, advanced and up to date special strength training methodology currently available. Everything presented in this book is derived from over 40 years of research and athletic experiments by Louie Simmons within the walls of his private gym/athletic laboratory, Westside Barbell. Special Strength Development For All Sports covers EVERYTHING a serious coach/athlete requires in their pursuit of excellence and of course the pursuit of reaching Full Athletic Potential. The book also has contributions from various performance specialists ranging from Nutrition, Rehab, Combat Sports and more...
Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy by
Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy, Second Edition, is the most comprehensive resource on muscle hypertrophy in the world. Written by Brad Schoenfeld, PhD, an internationally renowned expert on muscle hypertrophy, this book is the definitive resource for strength and conditioning professionals, personal trainers, sport scientists, researchers, and exercise science instructors who are seeking information regarding muscle hypertrophy, including the mechanism of its development, how the body structurally and hormonally changes when exposed to stress, ways to most effectively design training programs, and nutritional guidelines for eliciting hypertrophic changes. This new edition offers more than 1,000 references and applied guidelines. Two all-new chapters deliver practical content on the measurement of muscle hypertrophy and advanced training practices. Readers will learn various methods by which hypertrophy is measured, including site-specific measures (circumference measures, MRI, CT, and ultrasound), indirect measures (underwater weighing, DXA, BIA, ADP, and skinfolds), and histological measures (biopsy), as well as the strengths and limitations of each modality. The new edition also provides guidance for achieving greater training volumes with training practices that maximize the individual's genetic potential to gain muscle. No other resource offers a comparable amount of content solely focused on the science of muscle hypertrophy and its application to designing training programs. The full-color book offers several features to make the content accessible to readers: Research Findings sidebars highlight the aspects of muscle hypertrophy currently being examined to encourage readers to re-evaluate their knowledge and ensure their training practices are up to date. Practical Applications sidebars outline how to apply the research conclusions for maximal hypertrophic development. Comprehensive subject and author indexes optimize the book's use as a reference tool. Although muscle hypertrophy can be attained through a range of training programs, this book allows readers to understand and apply the specific responses and mechanisms that promote optimal muscle hypertrophy. It explores how genetic background, age, sex, and other factors have been shown to mediate the hypertrophic response to exercise, affecting both the rate and the total gain in lean muscle mass. Sample programs show how to design a three- or four-day-per-week undulating periodized program and a modified linear periodized program for maximizing muscular development. Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy is an invaluable resource for those seeking to maximize hypertrophic gains for themselves or their athletes or clients and for those searching for the most comprehensive and authoritative research in the field. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education course and exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes all the course materials and exam.
Designing Resistance Training Programs (4th Ed.) by
Designing Resistance Training Programs, Fourth Edition, is a guide to developing individualized training programs for both serious athletes and fitness enthusiasts. In this updated and expanded fourth edition, two of the world's leading experts on strength training explore how to design scientifically based resistance training programs, modify and adapt programs to meet the needs of special populations, and apply the elements of program design in the real world. Fleck and Kraemer provide readers with a thorough understanding of the process of designing resistance training programs from both scientific and practical perspectives. As with previous editions, the fourth edition includes comprehensive tables that compare data and conclusions from research on core topics related to design of resistance training programs. By summarizing research and content for the reader, these tables offer a study guide, on-the-job reference, or starting point for further research. Designing Resistance Training Programs, Fourth Edition, is the only resource available that presents the body of research in the field in this organized and comprehensive format. The fourth edition has been thoroughly revised to present the most current information while retaining the studies that are the basis for concepts, guidelines, and applications in resistance training. Meticulously updated and heavily referenced, the fourth edition contains the following updates: * A full-color interior provides stronger visual appeal for the text. * Sidebars focus on a specific practical question or an applied research concept, allowing readers to connect research to real-life situations. * Multiple detailed tables summarize research from the text, offering an easy way to compare data and conclusions. * A glossary makes it simple to find key terms in one convenient location. * Newly added instructor ancillaries make the fourth edition a true learning resource for the classroom. Designing Resistance Training Programs, Fourth Edition, begins by outlining the principles of resistance training and exercise prescription, and examines the various types of strength training, including isometrics and eccentric training. This is followed by a discussion of resistance training from a physiological perspective and an overview of how resistance training programs interact with the other conditioning components such as aerobic, interval, plyometric, and flexibility training. Readers will then explore advanced training techniques, how to manipulate training variables in a long-term resistance training program, and ways to plan rest into long-term training that minimizes losses in fitness or performance gains. An important text for students, researchers, and practitioners, this textbook offers the information and tools to help readers evaluate resistance training programs and better understand the context and efficacy of new data findings in this ever-changing field. Designing Resistance Training Programs, Fourth Edition, is an essential resource for understanding the science behind resistance training and designing evidence-based resistance training programs for any population. This text provides the tools for understanding and designing resistance training programs for almost any situation or need.
If You Like Exercise Chances Are You're Doing It Wrong: Proper Strength Training for Maximum Results by
In If You Like Exercise Chances Are You're Doing It Wrong, author Gary Bannister tells us that the power-to-be have all but destroyed the value of muscle isolation, discredited the use of machines in general, ignored everything related to the work of Arthur Jones and replaced it with a ten-cent solution. He claims that until the field of exercise defines what is true and what is not, it will never have the impact that it could. Muscle strength, the only factor that can produce human movement and the only factor that performs work, is disappearing from today's training regimens. This study and guide analyzes current concepts and training systems-such as Pilates, functional training TRX, cross-training, kettlebells, and more-and compares their benefits to those of proper strength training to provide a clear picture for everyone. If You Like Exercise Chances Are You're Doing It Wrong rekindles the high intensity strength-training principles of Arthur Jones, the founder of Nautilus. Bannister focuses on the concepts of intensity, form, frequency, duration, number of repetition, speed if movement, and muscle fatigue, supporting them with current research. Logically applied, proper strength training is the only system capable of satisfying all five potential benefits of exercise-an increase in strength, flexibility, cardiovascular condition, body-composition, and injury prevention.
The Vertical Diet by
With so many diets and programmes to choose from, finding the right nutritional path can be challenging. Many modern diets are rooted in misrepresented science, rely heavily on supplements, or are just simply not sustainable in the long term. World's Strongest IFBB Pro Bodybuilder Stan Efferding and Dr. Damon McCune have partnered to bring you a programme that sets the confusion aside and puts you on the path to weight loss, better performance, and overall better health, today. The Vertical Diet provides practical nutrition and lifestyle solutions that are simple, sensible, and sustainable.
Roar: How to Match Your Food and Fitness to Your Female Physiology for Optimum Performance, Great Health, and a Strong, Lean Body for Life by
"Dr. Sims realizes that female athletes are different than male athletes and you can't set your race schedule around your monthly cycle. ROAR will help every athlete understand what is happening to her body and what the best nutritional strategy is to perform at her very best."--Evie Stevens, Olympian, professional road cyclist, and current women's UCI Hour record holder Women are not small men. Stop eating and training like one. Because most nutrition products and training plans are designed for men, it's no wonder that so many female athletes struggle to reach their full potential. ROAR is a comprehensive, physiology-based nutrition and training guide specifically designed for active women. This book teaches you everything you need to know to adapt your nutrition, hydration, and training to your unique physiology so you can work with, rather than against, your female physiology. Exercise physiologist and nutrition scientist Stacy T. Sims, PhD, shows you how to be your own biohacker to achieve optimum athletic performance. Complete with goal-specific meal plans and nutrient-packed recipes to optimize body composition, ROAR contains personalized nutrition advice for all stages of training and recovery. Customizable meal plans and strengthening exercises come together in a comprehensive plan to build a rock-solid fitness foundation as you build lean muscle where you need it most, strengthen bone, and boost power and endurance. Because women's physiology changes over time, entire chapters are devoted to staying strong and active through pregnancy and menopause. No matter what your sport is--running, cycling, field sports, triathlons--this book will empower you with the nutrition and fitness knowledge you need to be in the healthiest, fittest, strongest shape of your life.
The Barbell Prescription: Strength Training for Life After 40 by
The Barbell Prescription: Strength Training for Life After 40 directly addresses the most pervasive problem faced by aging humans: the loss of physical strength and all its associated problems - the loss of muscle mass, bone mineral loss and osteoporosis, hip fractures (a terminal event for many older people), loss of balance and coordination, diabetes, heart disease related to a sedentary lifestyle, and the loss of independence. The worst advice an older person ever gets is, Take it easy. Easy makes you soft, and soft makes you dead. The Barbell Prescription maps an escape from the usual fate of older adults: a logical, programmed approach to the hard work necessary to win at the extreme sport of Aging Well. Unlike all other books on the subject of exercise for seniors, The Barbell Prescription challenges the motivated Athlete of Aging with a no-nonsense training approach to strength and health - and demonstrates that everybody can become significantly stronger using the most effective tools ever developed for the job.
Starting Strength: Basic Barbell Training (3rd Ed.) by
"Now, after four more years of testing and adjustment with thousands of athletes in seminars all over the country, this third edition expands and improves on the previous teaching methods and biomechanical analysis. No other book on barbell training ever written provides the detailed instruction on every aspect of the basic barbell exercises found in SS:BBT3. And while the methods for implementing barbell training detailed in the book are primarily aimed at young athletes, they have been successfully applied to everyone: young and old, male and female, fit and flabby, sick and healthy, weak and already strong. Many people all over the world have used the simple biological principle of stress/recovery/adaptation on which this method is based to improve their performance, their appearance, and their quality of life. SS:BBT3 is your complete guide to developing strength -- the foundation of athletic performance and the key to long-term health" -- Publisher description.
Scientific Principles of Hypertrophy Training by
The Scientific Principles of Hypertrophy Training is a fundamental analysis of what your training should look like if muscle growth is your main goal or even just one of your goals. The book takes you on a grand tour of all of the main 7 training principles and how to apply them to one's training - no matter your experience level, diet phase, or sport. It features: An in-depth 272-page explanation on nearly every important facet of hypertrophy training with a summarized "main points" guide at the end of each chapter. How to apply hypertrophy training to or around other sports and hobbies. How to work around injuries and still grow muscle. Thorough advice on how to construct and modify a hypertrophy program for all experience levels and diet phases. How to design training programs when you're limited on time. Advice on how to troubleshoot your hypertrophy program for best results.
Supertraining (6th Ed.) by
The shock method * The development of adaptation process during the long term sport activity * The "compensatory adaptation" * Current Adaptive Reserve of the human organism * The strategy to manage the adaptation in the training process * The specificity of protein synthesis in the adaptation process * The structural reconstructions during the adaptation process and the phenomenon of Supercompensation * Heterochronism of adaptive reconstructions * The function efficiency in a high - adapted organism * The optimal regime of adaptation * The phenomenon of immune defence decrease * The general schema of adaptation process during the sport activity * The practical aspects of the Adaptation Theory * The future developments of the use of Adaptation Theory in sport This book is a must have for any athlete or coach. Every topic is covered in almost 600 pages. * Strength and the muscular system * Philosophy of physical training * The muscle complex * Adaptation and the training effect * Sport specific strength training * Factors influencing strength production * The means of special strength training * The methods of special strength training * Organization of training * Strength training methods * Designing sports specific strength programs * Restoration and stress management * Combination of resistance methods * The use of testing * Overtraining * PNF as a training system * Models for structuring the annual training * Preparedness and the training load * Periodisation as a form of organization * Plyometric
Science and Practice of Strength Training by
Science and Practice of Strength Training is a favorite book among strength and conditioning professionals. Now in a third edition, it offers upgraded artwork, updates based on current science, and new information to enhance the practical application of the concepts presented. A new coauthor, Dr. Andrew Fry, joins the already-popular author team of Dr. Vladimir Zatsiorsky and Dr. William Kraemer to make this third edition even better than its predecessors. Together the authors have trained more than 1,000 elite athletes, including Olympic medal winners, world champions, and national record holders. Influenced by both Eastern European and North American perspectives, their experience and expertise are integrated into solid principles, practical insights, and directions based on scientific findings. Science and Practice of Strength Training, Third Edition, shows that there is no single program that works for everyone, at all times and in all conditions. It addresses the complexity of strength training programs while providing straightforward approaches to take under specific circumstances. Those approaches are backed with physiological concepts, ensuring readers gain a full understanding of the science behind the practice of strength training. In addition, the authors provide examples of strength training programs to demonstrate the principles and concepts they explain in the book. The third edition features more detailed artwork and has three new chapters on velocity in the weight room, overtraining and recovery, and athlete monitoring. The book is divided into three parts. Part I focuses on the basis of strength training, detailing basic concepts, task-specific strength, and athlete-specific strength. Part II covers methods of strength training, delving into velocity training, training intensity, timing, exercises used for strength training, injury prevention, overtraining, athlete monitoring, and goal-specific strength training. Part III offers even more practical applications, exploring training for specific populations, including women, young athletes, and senior athletes. The book also includes suggested readings that can further aid readers in developing strength training programs. This expanded and updated coverage of strength training concepts will ground readers in the understanding they need to develop appropriate strength training programs for each person that they work with. Earn continuing education credits/units! A continuing education exam that uses this book is also available. It may be purchased separately or as part of a package that includes both the book and exam.
The M.A.X. Muscle Plan 2.0 by
Widely regarded as one of America's leading strength and fitness professionals, Brad Schoenfeld has won numerous natural bodybuilding titles and has been published or featured in virtually every major fitness magazine. Now the best-selling author brings his expertise to a resource that has everything needed for completing a total-body transformation in just six months. The M.A.X. Muscle Plan 2.0, Second Edition, is packed with step-by-step directions for 106 of the most effective exercises and over 200 photos that demonstrate the revolutionary muscle-building program. Schoenfeld provides a science-based program specifically designed to promote lean gains and help you reach your ultimate muscular potential. The book's three-phase total-body program can be customized to your individual needs to dramatically transform your physique in just six months' time. For those who are relatively new to resistance training or are coming back from a prolonged layoff, there is a M.A.X. break-in routine designed to prepare the body to deal with the rigorous nature of the M.A.X. Muscle Plan program. Further, there are chapters devoted to providing cardio training guidelines and nutrition recommendations, based on the latest scientific research, that complement the M.A.X. Muscle Plan program. The second edition has been completely revamped to include updated science and research-based evidence as well as 12 sidebars that break down specific topics and offer applied examples. Two new chapters have also been added: a chapter with detailed information on the M.A.X. Muscle Plan warm-up and a Q&A chapter that provides answers to 13 common questions Schoenfeld has received since the first edition of the book. Results from The M.A.X. Muscle Plan 2.0 speak for themselves; thousands have successfully transformed their bodies by following the program. It is the blueprint for achieving--and maintaining--maximal muscle development. Please note: This book is not affiliated with Joe Wells Enterprises or MAX Muscle Sports Nutrition.
Glute Lab: The Art and Science of Strength and Physique Training by
In this book, Bret 'The Glute Guy' Contreras - PhD, personal trainer, and bestselling author - lays out a glute training system that will help you reach your strength, performance, and physique goals, distilling the science and art of glute training into one comprehensive manual. Whether you're a bodybuilder, physique competitor, athlete, powerlifter, CrossFitter, personal trainer, physical therapist, or simply someone who wants to improve your physique, this book contains everything you need to know about building bigger, stronger, leaner, higher-performing glutes.
Becoming a Supple Leopard: the Ultimate Guide to Resolving Pain, Preventing Injury, and Optimizing Athletic Performance by
Improve your athletic performance, extend your athletic career, treat stiffness and achy joints, and prevent and rehabilitate injuries-all without having to seek out a coach, doctor, chiropractor, physical therapist, or massage therapist. In Becoming a Supple Leopard, Dr. Kelly Starrett shares his revolutionary approach to mobility and maintenance of the human body and teaches you how to hack your own movement, allowing you to live a healthier, more fulfilling life. This new edition of the New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestseller has been thoroughly revised to make it even easier to put to use. Want to truly understand the principles that guide human movement? Becoming a Supple Leopard lays out a blueprint for moving safely and effectively through life and sport. Want to learn how to apply those principles to specific movements, whether you are doing squats in the gym or picking up a bag of groceries? Hundreds of step-by-step photos show you not only how to perform a host of exercise movements, such the squat, deadlift, pushup, kettlebell swing, clean, snatch, and muscle-up, but also how to correct the common faults associated with those movements. Frustrated because you can't perform a certain movement correctly due to range of motion restrictions? Breaking the body down into 14 distinct areas, Starrett demonstrates hundreds of mobilization techniques that will help you resolve restrictions and reclaim your mobility. Unsure how to put it all together into a program that addresses your individual needs? This updated edition lays out dozens of prescriptions that allow you to hone in on a specific limitation, a nagging injury, or an exercise fault that you just can't seem to get right. It even offers a 14-day full-body mobility overhaul. Performance is what drives us as human beings, but dysfunctional movement patterns can bring the human body to an abrupt halt. Often, the factors that impede performance are invisible even to seasoned athletes and coaches. Becoming a Supple Leopard makes the invisible visible. Whether you are a professional athlete, a weekend warrior, or simply someone wanting to live healthy and free from physical restrictions, this one-of-a-kind training manual will teach you how to harness your athletic potential and maintain your body. Learn how to perform basic maintenance on your body, unlock your athletic potential, live pain-free...and become a Supple Leopard. This step-by-step guide to movement and mobility will show you how to- . Move safely and efficiently in all situations .Organize your spine and joints in optimal, stable positions .Restore normal function to your joints and tissues .Accelerate recovery after training sessions and competition .Properly perform strength and conditioning movements like the squat, bench press, pushup, deadlift, clean, and snatch .Build efficient, transferable movement patterns and skill progressions from simple to more advanced exercises .Identify, diagnose, and correct inefficient movement patterns .Treat and resolve common symptoms like low back pain, carpal tunnel, shoulder pain, and tennis elbow .Prevent and rehabilitate common athletic injuries Use mobilization techniques to address short and stiff muscles, soft tissue and joint capsule restriction, motor control problems, and joint range of motion limitations .Create personalized mobility prescriptions to improve movement efficiency
Rebuilding Milo: the Lifter's Guide to Fixing Common Injuries and Building a Strong Foundation for Enhancing Performance by
Every athlete who spends time in the weight room eventually deals with pain/injury that leaves them frustrated and unable to reach their highest potential. Every athlete ought to have the ability to take the first steps at addressing these minor injuries. They shouldn't have to wait weeks for a doctor's appointment, only to be prescribed pain medications and told to "take two weeks off lifting" or, even worse, to "stop lifting so heavy." Dr. Aaron Horschig knows your pain and frustration. He's been there. For over a decade, Dr. Horschig has been a competitive weightlifter, and he understands how discouraging it is to tweak your back three weeks out from a huge weightlifting competition, to have knee pain limit your ability to squat heavy for weeks, and to suffer from chronic shoulder issues that keep you from reaching your goals. Rebuilding Milo is the culmination of Dr. Horschig's life's work as a sports physical therapist, certified strength and conditioning specialist, and Olympic weightlifting coach. It contains all of the knowledge he has amassed over the past decade while helping some of the best athletes in the world. Now he wants to share that knowledge with you. This book, designed by a strength athlete for anyone who spends time in the weight room, is the solution to your struggles with injury and pain. It walks you through simple tests and screens to uncover the movement problem at the root of your pain. After discovering the cause of your injury, you'll be able to create an individualized rehab program as laid out in this book. Finally, you'll be on the right path to eliminate your pain and return to the activities you love.
Hypertrophy: Muscle Fiber Growth Caused by Mechanical Tension by
Have you ever wondered how muscle growth happens after strength training? Do you want to understand the mechanisms by which increases in muscle size are triggered? Would you like to know how to write training programs that lead to maximum gains in muscle mass? In this short book, Chris Beardsley gives you a theoretical framework to help you achieve all of this. The book is divided into four sections. The first section provides a radical new explanation for the mechanisms of hypertrophy that rests firmly upon the basic and most fundamental principles of muscle physiology. Currently, many researchers believe that muscle growth is caused by three mechanisms (mechanical tension, metabolic stress, and muscle damage). This section explains why it is unnecessary to hypothesize roles for metabolic stress and muscle damage, and why mechanical tension is solely responsible for muscle growth, even when it is achieved by using very light external loads, because such loads can still cause very high mechanical tension on individual muscle fibers through the interactions of fatigue and the force-velocity relationship. The second section interprets the most important concepts of hypertrophy training in the light of this framework, including training volume, time under tension, and progressive overload. The third section covers the key training variables for any program, such as load, volume, frequency, exercise order, contraction mode, tempo, rest period duration, range of motion, proximity to failure, the mind-muscle connection, and the use of advanced techniques such as pre-exhaustion, forced reps, drop sets, and super sets. Other topics covered include what happens when we take breaks from training, periodization, and the interference effect of concurrent aerobic exercise. The final section addresses the fundamental principles of exercise selection for muscle growth, which allows strength training programs to be designed in such a way as to maximize growth of individual muscles.
