PharmD & the Library

AHFS Drug Information 2024 by ASHP AHFS Drug Information® 2024 contains the most dependable drug information available-all in one place. It is the most comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses. With expanded and revised content supported by more than 97,000 references and incorporating the advice of numerous subject matter experts, AHFS DI helps you protect your patients and your practice. Updates in the new edition: Clinical perspective sections that include place of therapy discussions and recommendations from therapeutic guidelines. Expanded coverage of specialty medications used to treat a variety of complex, chronic conditions that often require special handling and administration and may require careful oversight to manage severe adverse effects and dosage adjustments. Contemporary topics such as new RSV treatments and vaccines, safety issues associated with the glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP-1) agonists, novel orphan drugs, biosimilars, and more. Expanded content on new and emerging gene therapies. Updates to a variety of vaccine monographs including the pneumococcal, rabies, and respiratory syncytial virus vaccinesExpanded content on off-label uses and long-term clinical data, MedWatch alerts, Standardize4Safety information, REMS data, and focused FDA updates for various medications. New content on over 175 new molecular entities (NMEs) or new therapeutic biological products and substantive revisions on approximately 190 medications.

American Drug Index 2016 by Norman Billups & Shirley Billups For almost 60 years, American Drug Index has provided explanation and correlation of thousands of pharmaceuticals to medical, pharmaceutical, and allied health professionals. This exhaustive drug listing includes composition, strength, doseform, packaging, schedule, and usage for approximately 22,000 brand and official USP generic drugs. Organized in an easy-to-follow dictionary format with extensive cross-referencing, American Drug Index includes Tall Man lettering and hard-to-find generic drug pronunciations. Appendices provide valuable information on oral doseforms that should not be crushed or chewed, drug names that look and sound alike, weights and measures, approximate practical equivalents, normal laboratory values, and a manufacturer and distributor listing.

An A - Z of Medicinal Drugs by Elizabeth Martin A clear and comprehensive reference guide to medicines and their effects, ideal for home use or for health care professionals and medical students.Written in an accessible style, this dictionary contains over 4,000 entires on a wide range of medicines available today. Covering the full range of over-the-counter, pharmacy, and prescription medicines, this dictionary is perfect for meeting the increasing demands of patients and their families for information about medical drugs.It features entries for terms used in prescriptions and supply of medicines, and on conditions and the medicines used to treat them. It contains comprehensive information on side effects and interactions with other medicines. It also features entries for classes of drugs (e.g. antiobiotics), generic names (e.g. ibuprofen), and proprietary names (e.g. Prozac).

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by Mosby **Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Dictionaries/Terminology** Make sense of complex medical terms with this comprehensive reference! Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 11th Edition includes more than 56,000 authoritative definitions along with 2,450 illustrations - that's twice the number of images found in other medical dictionaries. Appendixes in the book and online make it easy to look up frequently used information, and an enhanced eBook version includes animations, audio pronunciations, and more. Helping you communicate more effectively in the workplace, this reference is an indispensable reference for students, nurses, and healthcare professionals. More than 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Convenient alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Color Atlas of Human Anatomy includes clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P reference. Detailed appendixes provide useful information on lab values, pharmacology and clinical calculations, NIC and NOC, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your healthcare career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Approximately 500 new and updated illustrations are included. NEW! Enhanced eBook includes linked audio pronunciations, animations, and integrated reference tables. NEW information on population health is included. NEW! Significant revisions of pharmacology content bring this information up to date. NEW! Added pronunciations are provided in this edition.

Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine by Laurie Fundukian A one-stop source for alternative medical information that covers complementary therapies, herbs and remedies, and common medical diseases and conditions

Herbal Medicines by Joanne Barnes, Linda Anderson & J. D. Phillipson

Medicinal Plants of the World by Ben-Erik van Wyk & Michael Wink Medicinal plants and plant-derived medicine are widely used in traditional cultures all over the world, and they are becoming increasingly popular in modern society as natural alternatives to synthetic chemicals. As more and more natural remedies are being commercialized, there is a need for a user-friendly reference guide to the plants and their products. This reference gives the reader a bird's eye view of more than 350 of the best known medicinal plants of the world and their uses, in a compact, colorful, and scientifically accurate text. It provides quick answers to the most obvious questions: Where does this plant originate? What does it look like? In which culture is it traditionally used? What is it used for? Which chemical compounds does it contain? How safe is it? What is known about its pharmacological activity? What evidence is there that it is effective? The authors also provide short overviews of the various health conditions for which medicinal plants are used and the active compounds (secondary metabolites) found in the plants and their modes of actions. This new edition has an additional 30 plant species and many new and improved photographs. The text has been fully updated to reflect the latest regulatory status of each plant.